Search Unity

Modifying component inspector headers (for component folders)

Discussion in 'Immediate Mode GUI (IMGUI)' started by DreamingImLatios, Nov 12, 2017.

1. DreamingImLatios

DreamingImLatios

I'm fairly new to editor extensions and such, and am trying to implement component folders. I tend to build systems with composition which means that I can very easily stack up 30-50 components on a GameObject.

I actually have nearly all of the basics of the system working. But there's one catch, I can't rename folders in a way that is intuitive.

ComponentFolders Help 1.PNG

I have several ideas on how to get around this, but I'm not sure what the best approach is.

Approach 1. Create a custom Inspector Window to replace the existing window. This might allow me to control the headings, but then I would need to figure out how to draw all the basic GameObject header stuff. This would be the answer if I had a base custom inspector window to go off of, but right now I don't know where to start.

Approach 2. Try drawing an out-of-bounds rectangle to overlap the header and display the new name. I'm not sure if this is allowed, and if it is, I would prefer to do so without hard-coding the offsets. And then comes the problem of whether or not I can read drag and drop in that region.

Approach 3. Override OnHeaderGUI or some other method that I'm not aware of. This would also be an ideal solution if I found something that worked. But it seems that an Editor's header is only used for assets and isn't used for Components.

Approach 4. Create a tool that generates a class which inherits from ComponentFolder every time a folder is renamed. Recompiling code would be terrible and I still probably wouldn't get drag and drop working.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance!

NotaNaN likes this.
  2. Fajlworks

Fajlworks