Search Unity

Modifying a package

Discussion in 'Package Manager' started by HonorableDaniel, May 18, 2019.

  1. HonorableDaniel

    HonorableDaniel

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Posts:
    2,779
    What is the official way to modify a package? It doesn't seem obvious to me.
     
  2. HonorableDaniel

    HonorableDaniel

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Posts:
    2,779
    Bump.

    I can't believe that I am the only person wondering this? Is this not a super obvious feature?
     
  3. M_R

    M_R

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Posts:
    425
    copy it to the Packages folder in the project (it's called an embedded package)
     
    HonorableDaniel likes this.
  4. HonorableDaniel

    HonorableDaniel

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Posts:
    2,779
    Do you mean the Assets folder? They're already in the Packages folder (obviously).
     
  5. M_R

    M_R

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Posts:
    425
    no they are linked to it via the AssetDatabase. they are physically in the Library folder (if you open Packages/ in the finder, you will see there is only the manifest there)
     
  6. mathieur

    mathieur

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Posts:
    29
    Yes, currently the way to develop a package is to copy/move it to your project's Packages folder.
     
    HonorableDaniel likes this.
  7. HonorableDaniel

    HonorableDaniel

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Posts:
    2,779
    Is it possible/advisable to import a package into the Assets folder?
     
  8. benoitv_unity

    benoitv_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Posts:
    40
    Hi @HonorableDaniel,

    No, you should never import a package in Assets unless you don't want it to be treated like a package.
     
    HonorableDaniel likes this.