Search Unity

Modeling and Texturing Outdoor Environments for Mobile

Discussion in 'iOS and tvOS' started by tpennetta, Feb 25, 2014.

1. tpennetta

tpennetta

Hello All,

I have browsed the answers, forums, and documentation. I have searched the interwebs. I have seen tutorial videos on modular vs. fully modeled environment creation and I still don't seem to have the answer I was looking for.

I am in the planning/design stage of my hobby project of game design. I am a programmer by trade and a modeler and designer by attempt. My game I am looking to create will be intended for use on mobile devices, targeting that of iPhone 4+. The main scenery that will make up this game will be outdoor NPR (Non-Photo Realistic). A bit cartoony.

I have come to the conclusion that I will have to make the levels using a modeling tool and not Unity's Terrain editor. This is because terrains are too much overhead for mobile devices, especially since I will be needing as many frames as possible for logic not draw calls.

This being said, I also am aware that mobile devices have lower image texture resolutions. This can vary slightly from device to device.

Here is my main question. I am using Blender to model my levels I suppose. But I want to be able to model the fully level geometry for use in this mobile game in Unity.

1. Do I model the level in one big geometry (still not too many tris).
    2. If I am limited so intensely on the size of the texture, how can I UV map this level?
    3. I would of course love to use tileable textures for ground, grass, etc. But! What if I need to do more advanced things like texture splatting. For example, patches of grass on top of my ground texture. Edges of cliffs will have green grass texture. Etc.

If anyone has experience in Blender or another modeling application that can send some words of wisdom my way for texturing and UV mapping an outdoor scene for mobile devices that would be greatly appreciated!

2. Essential

Essential