Search Unity

Model Rig Skeleton - Bone Structure Not Appearing in Hierarchy

Discussion in 'Documentation' started by Stalkker, Apr 8, 2018.

1. Stalkker

Stalkker

Hi All,

First time poster here so I apologize if this topic is not in the correct place and if my terminology is incorrect.

I am a novice user of unity and I am having problems managing my player controller. I am using the Invector plugin to manage the control method for my Player and NPCs, however, I believe the issue I am facing might be the way in which I am importing the model to unity or utilizing the model rigging functionality.

The context of my situation:

In order to utilize the functionality of Invector I need to have the bone structure tree of the model (See Fig. 1) appear when I generate a player character. These individual components (bones) will generate cylindrical colliders when I utilize the invector rag-doll functionality.

upload_2018-4-8_12-13-28.png
    Fig. 1 - Player Character Model in the Skeleton Mapping Scene

When the model is opened in the rigging window my initial problem that becomes apparent is hm00_bone_j001' has a bone length of zero. To resolve this I simply use the Move Tool function to extrude the bone so it has a value and then pressing "Apply".

upload_2018-4-8_12-27-43.png
    Fig. 2 - Before Spine Extrusion

upload_2018-4-8_12-31-14.png
    Fig. 3 - After Spine Extrusion

After completing this I am left with these errors which I do not know how to address:
    "Avatar Rig Configuration mis-match. Bone length in configuration does not match position in animation file:
    'hm00_bone_j017' : position error = 7.289085 mm
    'hm00_bone_j001' : position error = 56.484943 mm

upload_2018-4-8_12-34-49.png
    Fig. 4 - Errors Post Model Rigging