Search Unity

1. Improved Prefab workflow (includes Nested Prefabs!), 2D isometric Tilemap and more! Get the 2018.3 Beta now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Let us know a bit about your interests, and if you'd like to become more directly involved. Take our survey!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Model Rig Skeleton - Bone Structure Not Appearing in Hierarchy

Discussion in 'Documentation' started by Stalkker, Apr 8, 2018.

1. Stalkker

Stalkker

Hi All,

First time poster here so I apologize if this topic is not in the correct place and if my terminology is incorrect.

I am a novice user of unity and I am having problems managing my player controller. I am using the Invector plugin to manage the control method for my Player and NPCs, however, I believe the issue I am facing might be the way in which I am importing the model to unity or utilizing the model rigging functionality.

The context of my situation:

In order to utilize the functionality of Invector I need to have the bone structure tree of the model (See Fig. 1) appear when I generate a player character. These individual components (bones) will generate cylindrical colliders when I utilize the invector rag-doll functionality.

upload_2018-4-8_12-13-28.png
    Fig. 1 - Player Character Model in the Skeleton Mapping Scene

When the model is opened in the rigging window my initial problem that becomes apparent is hm00_bone_j001' has a bone length of zero. To resolve this I simply use the Move Tool function to extrude the bone so it has a value and then pressing "Apply".

upload_2018-4-8_12-27-43.png