Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Mixed licenses in non-professional environment

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by NickVst, Nov 9, 2019.

1. NickVst

NickVst

I'm a hobbyist, and together with two other hobbyists, I would like to participate in game jams with Unity.

The problem, however, is that I have bought a plus-license a while back, and neither of my partners are interested in dropping the $300 required to get a license themselves.

According to the thread over at https://forum.unity.com/threads/mixing-unity-tiers-in-a-project.415676/ , you are not allowed to use mixed licenses in your project.

I've tried to return my license while the jam is ongoing (and activate a Personal license in its plan), but when I activate a Personal license, it automatically activates the Plus license instead.

Can I just go ahead with my Plus-license, as it's not a commercial product we're developing? What if the game turns out to be an incredible proof-of-concept, and we want to build on it further and sell it? We'd still all be qualified for a Personal license. What are my options?

2. Antypodish

Antypodish

You should consider buying license, if you start making earning money threshold. That is the main purpose. Plus some few perks. There is no issue, to work with Unity pro on hobby project. As long you don't earn threshold using Unity.

I don't think any game jams require Unity-Pro. That would be missing its point.

Just consider your working colleague as contractor, so license won't be an issue for either party. As long above applies to each party.