Search Unity

  1. All Pro and Enterprise subscribers: find helpful & inspiring creative, tech, and business know-how in the new Unity Success Hub. Sign in to stay up to date.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

Resolved misunderstanding timeline animation tracks?

Discussion in 'Timeline' started by skyser5, Apr 20, 2021.

  1. skyser5

    skyser5

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Posts:
    24
    Hello, I have 3 characters (with Animators) that I want to play the same sequence of anims on simultaneously. I created a Timeline with 3 animation tracks that have identical anims on them. I assigned a different character's Animator to each track (see image).

    The problem is that when I scrub the preview or in Run mode only the first (top) character plays, not the other two. What am I not understanding or doing wrong? Thank you! Screen Shot 2021-04-20 at 8.59.33 AM.png
     
  2. DavidGeoffroy

    DavidGeoffroy

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Posts:
    474
    Are the clips valid for these characters?
     
  3. skyser5

    skyser5

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Posts:
    24
    Yes, all 3 chars are from the same Synty pack. The clips work fine on the first character.
     
  4. DavidGeoffroy

    DavidGeoffroy

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Posts:
    474
    Hmm..
    Hard to tell from just a screenshot. That should work.

    You can file a bug with your data, and if you paste the bug number here, I'll take a look at it.
     
  5. skyser5

    skyser5

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Posts:
    24
    SOLVED! Thanks for your quick response David. It helped to know I wasn't nuts. You won't believe the stupid answer. It WAS working. It's just that the 1st char was very large and obscuring the other chars. I applied transform offsets to them so I could see everybody finally!

    Could you please explain what applying scene transform does?
     
  6. DavidGeoffroy

    DavidGeoffroy

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Posts:
    474
    The doc does give a decent explanation of it, but I'll be happy to answer more pointed questions if you need clarifications.
     
  7. skyser5

    skyser5

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Posts:
    24
    Great. So is it fair to say then that Apply Transform Offset is an absolute value and Apply Scene Transform is a relative value?
     
  8. DavidGeoffroy

    DavidGeoffroy

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Posts:
    474
    Pretty much.

    Transform offsets will give you absolute offsets*. Your Timeline will always play in the same position/rotation.

    Scene offsets will give you offsets relative to the starting position of objects at the start of the Timeline. If your object is somehow rotated 90 degrees then the whole track will be rotated 90 degrees.

    *If your animated object is parented to another Transform, then the offset will still be relative to that transform.
     
unityunity