Search Unity

► Mesh Materializer ◄

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Arkhivrag, Jan 27, 2015.

  1. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,279
    You can not modify source code, it is packed in dll.
    Contact me using vacuumshaders@gmail.com



    VacuumShaders - Facebook Twitter YouTube
     
  2. OyvindE

    OyvindE

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2018
    Posts:
    7
    EDIT: Fixed by updating asset from asset store

    Hi.
    When trying to convert terrain to mesh after updating to Unity 2018.3.0f2 I get this error:

    Editor error : (
    UnityEngine.Object UnityEditor.PrefabUtility.GetCorrespondingObjectFromSource(UnityEngine.Object)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 9, 2019
  3. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,279
    You are using Unity 2018.2 version of the asset.
    Remove it from the project and re-download asset from the store using Unity 2018.3



    VacuumShaders - Facebook Twitter YouTube
     
  4. HonKasumi

    HonKasumi

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Posts:
    43
  5. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,279
  6. Jeff_CoderDads

    Jeff_CoderDads

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2017
    Posts:
    11
    Just a quick question, I just recently picked up Mesh Materializer and found that my terrain conversions at runtime are no longer working correctly once I turned on the Lightweight Render Pipeline.

    Is this asset https://assetstore.unity.com/packag...in-to-mesh-lightweight-render-pipeline-129398
    what I need to get that working?

    The symptoms are that after converting the root terrain material to a Lightweight Render Pipline/Terrain/Lit shader the low poly mesh created is all pink. What I wasn't sure of if it was the rendering of the mesh or it's color picking for the generation that was the cause.

    Thanks!
     
  7. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,279
    If in "the low poly mesh created" you mean baking texture into mesh vertex, then you do not need above asset. Package already includes shader for rendering mesh with per-vertex color.
    If you convert terrain into a mesh and need T2M shader (multi texture rendering with Paint and SplatMaps usage) then - Yes, you need https://assetstore.unity.com/packag...in-to-mesh-lightweight-render-pipeline-129398 asset.



    VacuumShaders - Facebook Twitter YouTube
     
  8. HonKasumi

    HonKasumi

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Posts:
    43

    can i paint on the terrain after it got lowpoly?
     
  9. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,279
    After conversion you will end up with Unity mesh.
    You will need some other external tool to paint on Unity mesh.




    VacuumShaders - Facebook Twitter YouTube
     
  10. ParadoxSolutions

    ParadoxSolutions

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Posts:
    272
  11. HonKasumi

    HonKasumi

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Posts:
    43
  12. CosmosBear

    CosmosBear

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Posts:
    60
    Hi,
    I bought Encode Pro so I could export Splatmap in tga files but I still don't get the option. I can do everything else with Encode pro (batch converting and single texture encode to tga).
    I'm on unity 2019.1 b09
     
  13. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,279
    Just released new update.



    VacuumShaders - Facebook Twitter YouTube
     
  14. CosmosBear

    CosmosBear

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Posts:
    60
    It's working now,
    thanks.
     
  15. HonKasumi

    HonKasumi

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Posts:
    43
    could you plss show me that, thats the only thing im intresting in, i only need to make the terrain to low poly and increse the polygons
     
  16. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,279
    Explained in this video tutorial:




    VacuumShaders - Facebook Twitter YouTube
     
    lightwaterjohn likes this.
  17. fherbst

    fherbst

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Posts:
    512
    Is there a way to add custom Vertex Color Adjustment tools?
    I'd like to do some very project-specific stuff (in this case, bake color.r into uv0.z and bake mesh index into uv0.w) after running some vertex color baking.
     
  18. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,279
    No, it is not possible. You have to write custom script for that.



    VacuumShaders - Facebook Twitter YouTube
     
  19. Zeporian

    Zeporian

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Hey,
    great Tool so far.

    I just got one question about Mesh Combine. Normal vertex count for a single mesh is about Int16/65.000.
    However, it's still possible to change the IndexFormat up to Int32 and 4 billion vertices by code easily. Even if it's not recommended on all platforms, I would really profit from that change, because I'am working with semi-optimized CAD-meshes..

    Could you include such an extra option for that in the future?
     
  20. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,279
    Added to a wish-list.



    VacuumShaders - Facebook Twitter YouTube
     
  21. Barritico

    Barritico

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Posts:
    236
    Hi.

    I've always had a doubt and what better place than this forum to solve it.

    What is the difference between a Terrain and a Mesh?

    I mean in terms of advantages and disadvantages.

    If you are going to improve my performance (PC games), I would value your purchase. But I do not have clear the advantages.

    Sorry for my ignorance about it.

    Thank you.
     
  22. zoltanBorbas

    zoltanBorbas

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Posts:
    79
    Hello there!

    I am trying to combine multiple meshes, where some of them has different materials on them, and i end up with a combined mesh but only one material. :( The original mesh was exported from probuilder which creates a separate meshes for each material upon export :( hence why i am using your mesh materializer asset to combine them into a static mesh, but i hoped that the new mesh would have multiple materials on it.

    Any chance that i am just missing a thick box or something that would create one mesh with multiple materials?

    Thanks You!
     
  23. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,279
    There are a lot of the discussions about Unity Terrains vs mesh, both have advantages and disadvantageous.
    It is all about what you need. Check posts here on forum or Google.


    The idea of mesh merging is minimizing draw calls, one mesh - one martial - one draw call.
    If using one mesh with 100 materials you still will have 100 draw calls.



    VacuumShaders - Facebook Twitter YouTube
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2019
  24. Barritico

    Barritico

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Posts:
    236
    Yes. I have read everything.
    Thanks for your input.
     
  25. MegaCo

    MegaCo

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2018
    Posts:
    79
    Hello, love the asset, I'm trying to combine alot of cubes in my scene which all have there own texture and mat's, but when I try to combine them it doesn't seem to generate the textures it appears white.
     
  26. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,279
    Do you bake anything? Texture, Color, AO?
    If no, then default mesh vertex color is white.



    VacuumShaders - Facebook Twitter YouTube
     
  27. MegaCo

    MegaCo

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2018
    Posts:
    79
    Yes iv enabled the Mesh Texture, ao, and the lighting.
     
  28. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,279
    Just to make sure that problems are not at the plugins side, package includes 6. Runtime (mesh combine) example scene. Do meshes combine there and colors get baked when running the scene?



    VacuumShaders - Facebook Twitter YouTube
     
  29. MegaCo

    MegaCo

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2018
    Posts:
    79
    Yes, the Texture #1 has different options. does the shader have to be legacy diffuse?
     
  30. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,279
    Mesh Materializer bakes data inside mesh vertex color. You can use any shader (included or custom) that supports vertex color.
    If example scene works correctly, problem may be at your side - you are doing something incorrectly:
    Make sure texture you are trying to bake is assigned to the mesh material.
    Note: data is calculated and baked per-vertex, if texture pixel color at mesh vertex UV position is 'white', you end up with completely 'white' mesh.
    Also pay attention to the Console window, Mesh Materializer prints detail info there if something goes wrong.
    As using this forum I can not clearly understand what may be problem, send me detail info to vacuumshaders@gmail.com.



    VacuumShaders - Facebook Twitter YouTube
     
  31. MegaCo

    MegaCo

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2018
    Posts:
    79
    Ok I have emailed :)
     
  32. wechat_os_Qy0x0jQTqfX92xnxoRn9ZHsxQ

    wechat_os_Qy0x0jQTqfX92xnxoRn9ZHsxQ

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    same problem in 2018.4.1
     
  33. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,279
    Download new version (v2019.4)



    VacuumShaders - Facebook Twitter YouTube
     
  34. combatsheep

    combatsheep

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Posts:
    95
    Hi.

    Mesh Materializer 2019.4 is something wrong in Unity 2019.2.1.
    Can I fix it with editing code?

    MeshMaterializer_bug.jpg

    Ex: Error
    TypeLoadException: Could not resolve type with token 010000a7 (from typeref, class/assembly UnityEngine.Experimental.Rendering.RenderPipelineAsset, UnityEngine, Version=0.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null)
    VacuumShaders.MeshMaterializer.MM_EditorWindow.Draw_MMData () (at <5a43dc5fccd1462fa21f82bcaa1a8510>:0)
    VacuumShaders.MeshMaterializer.MM_EditorWindow.OnGUI () (at <5a43dc5fccd1462fa21f82bcaa1a8510>:0)
    System.Reflection.MonoMethod.Invoke (System.Object obj, System.Reflection.BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Object[] parameters, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) (at <ad04dee02e7e4a85a1299c7ee81c79f6>:0)
    Rethrow as TargetInvocationException: Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation.
    System.Reflection.MonoMethod.Invoke (System.Object obj, System.Reflection.BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Object[] parameters, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) (at <ad04dee02e7e4a85a1299c7ee81c79f6>:0)
    System.Reflection.MethodBase.Invoke (System.Object obj, System.Object[] parameters) (at <ad04dee02e7e4a85a1299c7ee81c79f6>:0)
    UnityEditor.HostView.Invoke (System.String methodName, System.Object obj) (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/HostView.cs:359)
    UnityEditor.HostView.Invoke (System.String methodName) (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/HostView.cs:353)
    UnityEditor.HostView.InvokeOnGUI (UnityEngine.Rect onGUIPosition, UnityEngine.Rect viewRect) (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/HostView.cs:329)
    UnityEditor.DockArea.DrawView (UnityEngine.Rect viewRect, UnityEngine.Rect dockAreaRect, System.Boolean floatingWindow, System.Boolean isBottomTab) (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/GUI/DockArea.cs:374)
    UnityEditor.DockArea.OldOnGUI () (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/GUI/DockArea.cs:341)
    UnityEngine.UIElements.IMGUIContainer.DoOnGUI (UnityEngine.Event evt, UnityEngine.Matrix4x4 parentTransform, UnityEngine.Rect clippingRect, System.Boolean isComputingLayout, UnityEngine.Rect layoutSize) (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/unity/build/Modules/UIElements/IMGUIContainer.cs:281)
    UnityEngine.GUIUtility:processEvent(Int32, IntPtr)


    Env:
    iMac 2019
    Unity 2019.2.1

    Thanks.
     
  35. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,279
    It may happen if importing asset for Unity 2018 into Unity 2019.
    Solution: Delete asset from the project, clear Asset Store cache folder and re-download asset using Unity 2019



    VacuumShaders - Facebook Twitter YouTube
     
    combatsheep likes this.
  36. combatsheep

    combatsheep

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Posts:
    95
    Hi, Arkhivrag.

    Thanks for solution.

    When I import only Mesh Materializer(2019.4) after making the new project with Unity 2019.2.1, but same error occurs.
    MeshMaterializer_Check.jpg
    MeshMaterializer_Error.jpg
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2019
  37. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,279
    Just tested with Unity 2019.2.0 and 2019.2.3, nor problems found.
    Do not import package manually, download it from the store and based on Unity editor version you are using, appropriate package will be downloaded.
    Error you are receiving may happen if importing package written for Unity 2018 into Unity 2019.



    VacuumShaders - Facebook Twitter YouTube
     
  38. combatsheep

    combatsheep

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Posts:
    95
    Yes. I download package from Unity Asset Store in Unity 2019.2.


    This movie is my operation.Is it wrong?
    Or, if there is other way to download asset in Unity, please tell me.

    Thanks.
     
  39. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,279
    You are doing it correctly, but I'm sure there is some problem at Asset Store side, as it gives you asset for Unity 2018.
    Send me you asset purchase invoice to vacuumshaders@gmail.com and I'll directly send back package for Unity 2019.



    VacuumShaders - Facebook Twitter YouTube
     
  40. combatsheep

    combatsheep

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Posts:
    95
    Thank you, Arkhivrag!
    I sent you e-mail.
     
  41. combatsheep

    combatsheep

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Posts:
    95
    Thanks, Arkhivrag.
    The package you sent is working in Unity2019.2.3 perfectly!
    MeshMaterializer_working.jpg
     
  42. MorpheusXI

    MorpheusXI

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Posts:
    48
    Hi, I own this asset. With usage of 4k/2k textures etc on a character and for optimising a character to improve performance, I do not want to reduce poly. What can I do with Mesh Materializer and should I used Mesh Baker instead for characters?
     
  43. DonCornholio

    DonCornholio

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2017
    Posts:
    13
    Hi there ! I am interested in buying the asset, but i would like to know if it works in LWRP ?
     
  44. Arkhivrag

    Arkhivrag

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,279
    Mesh Materialize bakes everything inside mesh vertex color. Package includes LWRP and HDRP shaders with vertex color visualization. If they are not enough, you can use any third-party shader or create them with any shader editor tool.
    The only one tool not supporting LWRP is Terrain To Mesh plugin, shaders for it are available separately here.



    VacuumShaders - Facebook Twitter YouTube
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2020
    DonCornholio likes this.
unityunity