Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Mesh/GameObject disappears at certain camera angles

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by Markus013, Apr 5, 2016.

1. Markus013

Markus013

This is a screen cap of my issue: <bad link removed by moderator>

essentially at certain angles the hand/arms models just disappear. they are in a gameobject directly attached to the main Camera.

Just using the unity asset pack first person controller right now.

the arms seem fine in the Scene view, but are flickering in the Game view. I have tried playing around with the directional light, and I don't believe (?) lighting is the issue.

I'm pretty new in regards to using models/meshes so I'm not sure if there's something glaringly obvious I missed.

and apologies, I tried searching but maybe I suck at naming the terms.

Last edited by a moderator: Nov 15, 2022
    goldcloud144 likes this.
  2. Cherno

Cherno

I had a similar problem before, where a mesh that had it's pivot far away from the vertices would disappear once the pivot was out of the camera's frustrum.

3. Markus013

Markus013

@Cherno Thanks, that was actually enough for me to go off of.
    I changed the way I was initially rotating the arms by rotating a parent object instead and the result seem much better

Cheers :)

4. Spickes

Spickes

In order someone will find this in the future I leave it here when this happened you went to, your mesh which is flickering look in the inspector under skinned mesh Renderer and check the "Update when offscreen" that should solve the problem

5. MaxIzrinCubeUX

MaxIzrinCubeUX

Occlusion Culling can also cause this.
    I had a UI vanish when I tilt my head down below 60° in a VR project.
    Turning off the occlusion culling on the UI camera fixed it.

doom0479 and goldcloud144 like this.
  6. Carterryan1990

Carterryan1990