Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

Mesh Colliders inside Asset Bundles require Read/Write Enable to be true

Discussion in 'Asset Bundles' started by SufferinPup, Sep 16, 2021.

  1. SufferinPup

    SufferinPup

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Posts:
    24
    We are using 2019.4.9f1 and seeing some strange behavior. If a prefab with a mesh collider is inside an asset bundle, the mesh fbx import settings require "Read/Write Enable" to be true. This isn't the case if the prefab is in a normal build, or running from the editor. In those cases there is no error message and the collision works fine.

    It is a huge pain because the error message only says the mesh name, which the artists mostly name "Collider", so finding the correct fbx that contains that mesh and enabling that option is becoming very time consuming.

    Is there any way to disable/workaround this requirement, or automatically mark them as needed, or some other solution?

    Thanks for any help. Also if this is the wrong forum, please point me in the right direction. I wasn't sure since this involves physics as well.
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2021
  2. HansBernd

    HansBernd

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Posts:
    50
    Bumping this. We are seeing the same issue on Unity 2019.4.33. Model and scene files are in different asset bundles.
    Even with the Prebake Collision Meshes flag set we are not getting any proper mesh colliders during runtime.
     
  3. gisinator

    gisinator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2021
    Posts:
    8
    Can confirm this issue with addressables and 2020.3.23f1. Collisions with my meshcollider work perfectly in editor, but once build on Android, no more collisions :(
     
  4. Petr777

    Petr777

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    45
    Are there any news on this? we have the same issue on 2018.4.10, looks like an old bug
     
  5. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    6,313
    If it's not fixed in the latest Unity (LTS) release, you should submit a bug-report with a project Unity Technologies can use to reproduce the problem and test their fix against. https://unity3d.com/unity/qa/bug-reporting

    If they don't have a bug-report in their system, it's unfortunately unlikely that Unity staff is going to look at the issue (from my experience).
     
  6. MylesLambert

    MylesLambert

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Posts:
    56