Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Merge assets ?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Marckenson, Oct 9, 2019.

  1. Marckenson

    Marckenson

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Posts:
    5
  2. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    5,449
    First you just import both, and get your project working. Otherwise, please define "merge", you can certainly import multiple assets.
     
    Joe-Censored likes this.
  3. Marckenson

    Marckenson

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    thank you very much but may i have an example of your answer in screenshot ?
     
  4. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    5,449
    I'm not sure what you mean. You simply import your first asset, and then import your second one the same way. They will be placed in separate folders in your project. Are you receiving an error?
     
    Joe-Censored likes this.
  5. Marckenson

    Marckenson

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    I mean, just a screenshot, how do you do the merging step by step ! please
     
  6. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    5,449
    You don't "merge". You first install the first asset, have you done that? Does your game run? Great! Now import the second one, the same way. You can import multiple assets into the same project. From the Asset menu, choose Import New Asset if you have it locally. Or perhaps easier, just click on the Asset Store tab, locate the asset you want, and click Download/Import. Repeat for your second asset.
     
  7. Marckenson

    Marckenson

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    ''You can import multiple assets into the same project.'' After, when i save my project, with the assets in the same project or basket, it's like merging ? Yes or no ? Sorry, i am new with Unity !
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2019 at 10:38 PM
  8. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    5,449
    Yes, try it and see! Please keep in mind you are answering my previous questions with more questions. Best to answer each question directly, they are asked for a specific reason. THEN move onto your questions.
     
  9. Joe-Censored

    Joe-Censored

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Posts:
    6,520
    What you're saying is confusing because "merging" has a very specific meaning for programmers, but what you're describing is not it.

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Merge_(version_control)