Search Unity

Memory problems with procedurally generated meshes

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by stevosaurus, Aug 25, 2010.

1. stevosaurus

stevosaurus

Hello!

I am new to Unity and me and have run into a problem that I can't solve.

I am generating my games terrain procedurally, and storing the meshes for the terrain in several different game objects. I don't use one big mesh because I want to be able to quickly update one part of the mesh at runtime.

I am reusing gameobjects to hold new terrain as you move through the world and I repopulate their meshes with this code:

Code (csharp):
    2. Mesh mesh = GetComponent<MeshFilter>().mesh;        
    3. mesh.Clear();
    5. mesh.vertices = vertArr;
    6. mesh.normals = normArr;
    7. mesh.uv = texArr;
    8. mesh.triangles = indArr;
    10. mesh.RecalculateNormals();
    11. mesh.RecalculateBounds();
    This works well, but uses more memory every time I redo the mesh. Looking at the stats window it seems that my VBO total and the ram associated with it is probably the culprit. Looking at the profiler, my mesh number is always the same but the mesh memory increases with the VBO memory.

Is there anyway to get around this? Is assigning mesh.vertices several times just a bad idea?

Thanks for your help!

2. andeeeee

andeeeee

Hi, welcome to the forum!

There are a number of places in mesh generation code that can allocate memory including some internal properties. You can't do much about the internal stuff, but you can reuse already allocated arrays for vertices, etc. In general, the allocated memory isn't a big problem, since it can be reclaimed (although the garbage collection process can be a CPU spike).

3. stevosaurus

stevosaurus

Thanks for your response!

I am reusing all of the arrays I assign the mesh. I wouldn't mind Unity grabbing up memory when assigning the arrays if the memory was eventually reclaimed.