Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

MegaCity Feedback & Discussion

Discussion in 'Data Oriented Technology Stack' started by smcclelland, Mar 19, 2019.

  1. eizenhorn

    eizenhorn

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Posts:
    1,494
    I can share builded project tomorrow if anyone want (and if Unity don't mind it)
     
    Grimreaper358, RaL and Peter77 like this.
  2. Grimreaper358

    Grimreaper358

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Posts:
    560
    I get errors when building, so this will be much appreciated.
     
  3. rizu

    rizu

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,176
    I didn't have any issues on building that, you guys got IL2CPP installed and Visual Studio with c++ toolchain?

    Technically you could do mono build too but you'll still need the c++ toolchain afaik to be able to compile for Burst.
     
  4. dreamerflyer

    dreamerflyer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Posts:
    902
    megacity-mac.jpg
    this is ppt ......I can see this demo can run on mobile at gdc2019, why not give the mobile version demo??And ,this demo has no navmesh ,if using navmesh to subscene,combine the navmesh is hard i think
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2019
  5. chrisk

    chrisk

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Posts:
    491
    Hi, we are building a large open world with streaming in mind.
    What you mentioned about low res section loaded first sounds interesting.
    It sounds like we can extend it so that when loading a building, external building first and load internal building objects when a player enters the building.
    And we prefer to build the building with nested prefab for easier management.
    I believe it's quite a common setup for any open world games and I'm really curious how we can set it up.
    I would really appreciate if you can help.

    ps. Are there any detailed guide(video/doc) how Megacity is set up so that we can repeat ourselves? There many videos about Megacity but I haven't found one that I can follow along.

    Thanks.
     
  6. antey3064

    antey3064

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Posts:
    15
    Is it possible to apply or adapt Megacity technology to a construction system similar to the one in Rust?
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2019
  7. L2GX

    L2GX

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    Posts:
    38
    I'd also like to see the mobile-specific version or a confirmation that it's proprietary and won't be released?
     
  8. eizenhorn

    eizenhorn

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Posts:
    1,494
    It will. Later.
     
  9. eizenhorn

    eizenhorn

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Posts:
    1,494
    TokyoWarfareProject and Peter77 like this.
  10. nxrighthere

    nxrighthere

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Posts:
    537
    The demo is unusable even on high-end hardware, unfortunately. CPU/GPU utilization is poor (on different machines) which results in low framerate, no matter where we run it, standalone or editor.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.png
      1.png
      File size:
      78.7 KB
      Views:
      418
    • 2.png
      2.png
      File size:
      54.9 KB
      Views:
      453
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2019
    wobes and Knightmore like this.
  11. chrisk

    chrisk

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Posts:
    491
    I thougth MegaCity will bottleneck in GPU but I find that it has huge bottleneck on CPU and it's not a good example of ECS.
    Not sure what's going on but is there any explanation?
     
  12. L2GX

    L2GX

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    Posts:
    38
    I've replaced a mesh (all three LOD) in the bus prefab. It shows up in the Vehicle scene, but not in the Megacity scene. Any tips?
     
  13. eizenhorn

    eizenhorn

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Posts:
    1,494
    You rebuild subscene entity cache?
     
    L2GX likes this.
  14. harini

    harini

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Posts:
    11
    Very cool! Do let us know your feedback/issues with DSPGraph! Will work with the community manager to get a dedicated audio subforum so that we can talk more about DSPGraph!
     
    pal_trefall, Alverik, FROS7 and 2 others like this.
  15. Hyp-X

    Hyp-X

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Posts:
    189
    So far the only minor setback is ExecuteContext.PostEvent not working with Burst. I could work around that, but until I start to stress test the system I can live with not using Burst.

    I'm excited for DSPGraph, because it enables us to implement unique features for our game, such as
    - A non-conventional listener channel mixing equation for a top-down camera game
    - Soundscapes (in the Unite talk terminology) for large sound sources such as rivers, oceans, patches of forests etc.

    We won't use Unity ECS, because we have a data oriented solution specific for our game, but using DSPGraph will fit nicely.
     
    harini likes this.
  16. L2GX

    L2GX

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    Posts:
    38
    I got the replacement to stick after rebuilding Assets/Scenes/MegaCity/Traffic
    Is Traffic not directly in the Megacity main scene because it's not static?
     
  17. Joachim_Ante

    Joachim_Ante

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    4,714
    At the moment whenever a change on a SubScene happens the cache needs to be rebuilt. When changing the scene directly this is done automatically, but there is no dependency tracking for prefabs at this moment.

    Next priority for us is to move the Entity binary files out of version control and into the asset pipeline with full dependency handling.
     
    Alverik, FROS7, eizenhorn and 4 others like this.
  18. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    25,594
    Sounds so much like a formula 1 garage with all the care required, technicians etc.
     
    Alverik likes this.
  19. MaloneXI

    MaloneXI

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2019
    Posts:
    11
    Hi all , I'm pretty noob about unity , but when I see the ECS ,

    No doubt I will be interested. I just download the last version of unity , the personnal edition. I was wondering if I could export some buildings assets into max to modify them, and reimport them in unity. I've founded some tutorials that explains how to deal with that , by a simple right click , but I can't find it. Anybody could help ?

    First , do I have the right to do such a thing ? It's just for a personal use. I'm a designer , not a developper (damn me...) I just want to discover slowly unity...

    Thanx a lot anyway , I was far from imagining unity was so powerful...
     
  20. Aldo-V

    Aldo-V

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Posts:
    81
    Same on my pc. eizenhorn's standalone build is running worse than editor play mode for me. And in editor play mode - probes on building loading slowly one by one.

    When I build standalone no sub scene is loading in game. Also tried adding all sub scenes in build scene list. What may be gone wrong?
     
  21. nxrighthere

    nxrighthere

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Posts:
    537
    Same here, on my machine his build running even worse than my standalone or if I running it right in the editor (framerate and hardware utilization is better).
     
  22. Brad-Newman

    Brad-Newman

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Posts:
    112
    RomBinDaHouse, L2GX and Adam-Bailey like this.
  23. Brad-Newman

    Brad-Newman

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Posts:
    112
    Editing prefabs in the project is extremely slow for me. When I edit "Backdrop_Building_D" for example, simply clicking on the transforms like "Low LOD" or "High LOD" the inspector takes 15-20 secs before it updates to the newly selected transform. I'm using Unity 2019.1.b9 with Auto Save prefabs disabled. Maybe it's a beta 9 bug...

    I'm don't think it's hardware related since my machine is pretty new:
    - Project on SSD
    - CPU: i7-8700K @ 3.70GHz
    - RAM: 32 GB
    - GTX 1080
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2019
    castana1962 likes this.
  24. Brad-Newman

    Brad-Newman

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Posts:
    112
    From what I can tell it may be related to HLOD.

    To reproduce:
    - Edit "Backdrop_Building_D"
    - Disable "High LOD" transform.
    - Things slow down.

    If you:
    - Edit "Backdrop_Building_D"
    - Disable "HLOD" component
    - Disable "High LOD" transform.
    - Things run fine.
     
  25. castana1962

    castana1962

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Posts:
    362
    Hi Brad-Neuman
    Sorry but it is possible that my comment do not answer your question but when you told us that you think that your PC spec is not the problem (PC slow) , I am asking myself what is the best Desktop PC spec to get the best performance in DOTS and the others new features in Unity 2019? For it, Is there any PC spec to get the best of it?
    Thanks
     
  26. Aldo-V

    Aldo-V

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Posts:
    81
    I was trying his Megacity build with "insane" graphics setting. Now I tried with "medium" graphics setting - now framerate and cpu usage much better. But still memory usage around ~2gb only (may be due to this probes on buildings loading slow?)
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2019
  27. L2GX

    L2GX

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    Posts:
    38
    In the mobile version, in the editor, what is causing the 'fog' distance effect on the city material? Can I knock it out or adjust it somewhere?
     
  28. 5argon

    5argon

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Posts:
    1,265
    Is it only me that couldn't load Megacity from the official page? Using Chrome it is always failing, and using wget it is always retrying at around the same size

    Screenshot 2019-04-11 01.28.06.png
     
  29. Muhamad_Faizol

    Muhamad_Faizol

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Posts:
    43
    Had the same problem with wget, I ended up using aria2c to successfully download it.
    Hope that helps.
     
    5argon likes this.
  30. 5argon

    5argon

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Posts:
    1,265
    Still getting EOF from server at around the same 650MB. Something must be wrong there. (I got about 30GB space on my computer, shouldn't be storage issue)

    Screenshot 2019-04-11 10.55.42.png
     
  31. Aldo-V

    Aldo-V

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Posts:
    81
    5argon likes this.
  32. 5argon

    5argon

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Posts:
    1,265
  33. Muhamad_Faizol

    Muhamad_Faizol

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Posts:
    43
    Probably you can issue -x<NUM> or --max-connection-per-server=<NUM> option (I think the max NUM is 16) when using aria2c to increase chances that the threads will try to reconnect and resume the download process again. Anyway you also can just reissue the aria command to resume the download unlike with wget where most of the time the downloading process will start again from 0%.

    EDIT: I just saw your reply, glad that you solved it.
     
  34. shredingskin

    shredingskin

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Posts:
    152
    Anyone got it running on 2019.1f1 ? It seems to have incompatibility with the megacity audio package.
     
  35. L2GX

    L2GX

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    Posts:
    38
    What exactly are the conditions of your sharing either the full and the mobile version? Are the assets free? Is the code reusable?
    Would you consider releasing it under a specific license such as CC commercial?
     
  36. rizu

    rizu

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,176
    If anything, they'll use Unity Companion License like they've done with every recent content. That being said, I didn't spot the license on the shared megacity sample either.
     
  37. Arowx

    Arowx

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Posts:
    7,119
    Could I suggest an update to Mega City to turn it into a game...


    Turn it into a warzone, ideally allowing for 3rd person RTS play and first person FPS play to really test the system at a larger scale and on the human scale.

    You could start with inter vehicle combat then add people as the animation/DOTS system comes online.

    And implement the not DOTS aspects are hybrid then bring them over to Pure as you develop them.

    It should also work as an Amazing demo and stress test of the DOTS system and inter system* stress test.

    *I think DOTS systems will not be the performance problem area in DOTS games, the interconnects between systems are more likely to become bottlenecks.
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2019
  38. Kamyker

    Kamyker

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Posts:
    70
    I've just imported Megacity to 2019.1.0f2 and it works fine even with Visual Studio 2019! Getting solid 60fps in editor with i9 9900k and gtx 1070.
     
    L2GX and Antypodish like this.
  39. Arowx

    Arowx

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Posts:
    7,119
    Does megacity traffic use navmesh?
     
  40. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    5,683
    Nope. There is video, where which discusses megacity traffic implementation. It is much simpler than that.
     
  41. Lurking-Ninja

    Lurking-Ninja

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    4,489
     
    Antypodish likes this.
  42. Arowx

    Arowx

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Posts:
    7,119
    So the road network is just a node based road system, it could still allow for baked in navigation. Although it's a pity the roads are flat (2d lanes) in a 3D world space, as the roads really should be an array of lanes the vehicles can weave/climb and dive through.

    With some enemy detection basic navigation and weapons this could make for the start of a road war system.
     
  43. Lurking-Ninja

    Lurking-Ninja

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    4,489
    I think you are very lost. It's not a pity, it is what they needed for this demo. When you make a demo or a game, you can take this and adapt to 3D with lanes above and below. It's not that hard. Do you really need to have everything done for you and wrapped in gift-paper?
     
    Antypodish likes this.
  44. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    5,683
    Specially demo was done only within 2 weeks.
     
  45. rizu

    rizu

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,176
    Pretty sure it took them few months rather.
     
    Alverik likes this.
  46. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    5,683
    Providing I remember correctly, as I watched that video while ago, they mentioned about 2 people working for roughly 2 weeks on that feature. Probably along with other features.

    It isn't much complex system, for demo purpose. Unless further polished afterward.
     
  47. L2GX

    L2GX

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    Posts:
    38
    This is a shot of my OP2 running the demo with nearly all meshes and textures swapped.
    It’s early days so I only have low poly geometry in there. Once all vehicle meshes are removed the build should be way down in size; it’s now 140 mb.
    Next step is to integrate the vehicle controls from the big version!
     

    Attached Files:

  48. Arowx

    Arowx

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Posts:
    7,119
    It's a good/great graphical demo and could be made into any number of games:
    • Racing Game
    • FPS*
    • RTS
    • City Simulation
    • Endless Runner
    This would mean adding more features and therefore pushing the boundaries of DOTS to be more than a display lots of things technology.



    Unity should make games with their game engine, tech demos are great but games are better.

    *Is the Megacity built to an FPS scale e.g. a 2 unit/meter tall character would fit in the vehicles or be able to walk in the buildings?
     
  49. id0

    id0

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Posts:
    320
    I have gtx 750-ti, i5 6400 cpu and 16 GB of RAM, and I ran the demo just fine with the default settings. Although it must first download all the scenes, resources, etc., otherwise, fps will be very low, and after that - about 30 fps. BUT the demo eats about 7-8 GB of RAM, which is not good.
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2019
  50. Joachim_Ante

    Joachim_Ante

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    4,714
    ArrowX please stop trolling. It's not appreciated.

    We are making games on with Unity to dog food and prove what Unity can do:
    https://unity.com/fps-sample

    And we also make tech demos. They are not the same and they serve different purposes. This is not the thread to discuss it.