Search Unity

Question Mega-thread to help me learn to reason about NetCode

Discussion in 'NetCode for ECS' started by DreamingImLatios, Nov 29, 2022.

1. DreamingImLatios

DreamingImLatios

This thread is a follow-up from this thread.

Background

For those who aren’t familiar with me, I’ll provide some quick background about myself. It will be relevant for this thread.

First, I’m the creator of the Latios Framework, which provides native audio and animation for DOTS-based projects (for free) among other things.

But while I am a professional in the field of software development, game development is just a hobby for me that helps me grow as a person and bring outside domain knowledge to the company I work for. I’ve built lots of prototypes, but I usually don’t publish them, usually due to lack of artwork. I’m quite familiar with data-oriented design and ECS architectures, having worked with them before Unity even started with DOTS. While I’m no expert, I know much more than the average developer about hardware, performance, correctness, safety, ect.

But when it comes to networking, my only real experience is with communication between embedded devices over either standardized or purpose-built electrical circuitry. I have never built a real game with networking. And while I have read several pieces of documentation and tutorials, and watched several videos, I never felt like I ever knew enough to make my own decisions. Either the critical pieces are abstracted away, or the tutorials don’t provide the backing insight into why they do things one way and not another. I’m not exactly the trial-and-error type. I know some people work fast and learn from their mistakes quickly. But for me, that’s an incredibly slow and inefficient way for me to learn what I am doing.