Search Unity

Medieval Battle Simulation: Soldier AI (How hard is it?)

Discussion in 'Navigation' started by Necropolitan13, Apr 21, 2022.

1. Necropolitan13

Necropolitan13

I'm an intermediate programmer, at best, right now. I have an idea for a battle simulation game involving heavy delegation to the AI (the player is the commander and is mostly involved at the start of the battle, after which the AI largely does its own thing). I'm wondering how hard this is going to be and how much more I need to learn or how much more experience I should have before attempting it.

I have not really worked with AI much in the past; and I don't think I've worked with it at all in Unity yet. I'm trying to get back into game development (again) and had this idea for a medieval battle simulation game, where the player takes on the role of the commander/general, setting up the initial battle strategy and then delegating the moment-to-moment decisions to AI captains which are in charge of units of many AI soldiers. This would be a 2D, top-down style game, with simple graphics (I'm not much of an artist), mostly focused on realism and complex systems.