Search Unity

  1. The 2022.1 beta is now available for testing. To find out what's new, have a look at our 2022.1 beta blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Mechanim = pain

Discussion in 'Animation' started by DDNA, Aug 2, 2016.

  1. ZenTeapot

    ZenTeapot

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Posts:
    33
    What you propose could work, but it's over-complicating the issue. That would require me to go into every state, manually set a parameter, and check that. It's tons of clicking around when I have a lot of states. The problem is not why I would want it, but that why such apparent information is not available. It's a fundemental piece of information about the state machine
     
  2. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    28,328
    I am interested in providing feedback and testing custom builds. Our main title uses puppet master but I would prefer to use native solutions here so I am registering my desire to assist in any way I can. We use physics + animation across the entire title in various ways.
     
  3. giraffe1

    giraffe1

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Posts:
    248
    Does anyone know of an asset or even game made with unity that shows decent movement without foot sliding?

    Only example I have found so far is the 'mecanim example scene' from Unity but wish there are more examples for n00bs like us. I don't know how you guys are using mecanim to make anything decent looking without foot sliding.
     
  4. Ironmax

    Ironmax

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    Posts:
    890
    Why whould you need clicking? The code i provide includes no clicking, it will sett the state you currently playing to true and other to false. You should always make your own statemachine, this is my point. I am pretty sure Mecanim is meant to use parameters. I am not even sure if you can run a smooth animation without it..
     
  5. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    28,328
    You need Animator (formerly mecanim) to use blend trees, but AFAIK Playables API is designed to do it all with code.
     
  6. Mecanim-Dev

    Mecanim-Dev

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    1,675
    Hi Hippo, we are not ready yet to provide custom builds, we are still experimenting with the new compute jobs and trying to figure out what the API could look like. As soon as we have something working we will send request for feedback.
     
    hippocoder likes this.
  7. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    28,328
    Thanks, I am looking forward to your progress and results of research :)
     
  8. PhilSA

    PhilSA

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Posts:
    1,764
    I want in too! I'm working on an "IK Rig" for 4-legged creatures, and I would definitely give those animation playable jobs a try

     
    JosephHK and Mecanim-Dev like this.
  9. GregZ

    GregZ

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Posts:
    27
    Is this out yet? Was it moved to a new thread?
     
  10. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    28,328
    Be patient guys. I've waited years here! NOW..... FEED US INFORMATION. WE NEED TO KNOW, and everyone in the entire world agrees with me!
     
    theANMATOR2b likes this.
  11. IgorAherne

    IgorAherne

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Posts:
    382

    1) I can relate so bad to that quote.


    2) "AnyState" node doesn't respect its SubStateMachine - it just rams-out from any external animation, even if that external animation resides in a parent SubStateMachine

    3) not possible to copy-paste the nodes in Blend Trees
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2018
unityunity