Search Unity

Mecanim blend tree throwing multiple events in Unity 5.2

Discussion in 'Animation' started by Razouille, Sep 9, 2015.

  1. Razouille

    Razouille

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Posts:
    42
    Hi everyone,

    I got a huge problem since i updated to Unity 5.2.0f3.
    In my animator i got some blend trees with a "Direct" blend type, but even if the first is set to 1 and the other to 0, it fires the same event twice (the 2 animations are exactly the same except the sprites). I didnt notice this bug before so i guess it's the 5.2 update which does that.

    Anyone has the same problem than me ? Is this really a bug, or do i have to do anything else to avoid that ?

    Thank you in advance !
     
  2. David-Flook

    David-Flook

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    47
    I'm not sure if this is the same thing but I've noticed this situation;

    -2 animations in a blend tree.
    -animation 1 is threshold 0
    -animation 2 is threshold 1
    -each animation has an event.
    -parameter is set to 0 (animation 1 plays with no blending with animation 2)

    The event from animation 2 fires along with the event from animation 1.
     
  3. Bearabeck

    Bearabeck

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    We're seeing this problem as well. We're using 2D freeform Cartesian blending. Our units are firing multiple projectiles because the event goes off several times (like 8) during the animation. This was not an issue before updating from 5.1, or at least not to this scale and consistency. It happens every single time.
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2015
  4. Devtactics

    Devtactics

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Posts:
    3
    I'm having this problem, with a very simple state -- no blending, no transitions, etc. Just a state with a clip assigned to it. The clip has a couple of events and roughly half the time they'll both fire twice, even though the clip only plays once.

    When the events fire twice, they do so in the correct order (i.e. ABAB instead of AABB) and the second set happen the instant the clip finishes. If I add the clip's normalizedTime to the log, it looks like this:

    - Event A: 0.6972
    - Event B: 1.004
    - Event A: 0
    - Event B: 0

    This is new in 5.2 and it's driving me up the wall.
     
  5. Karsten

    Karsten

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Posts:
    142
    We have similiar issues with Blendtrees , since 5.2.0 , its definitive one of the problems that came with it.
     
  6. Louis-N-D

    Louis-N-D

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Posts:
    223
    Yep! Me too! I use a simple blend tree to blend between my character's idle animation and run animation. The run animation has one event per foot step to generate a dust particle and sound. The particle fires even when standing still with the blending parameter at 0 (should only be playing idle). I tried to fix the problem by adding an idle state, but I'm still getting misfires while blending between the two states.
     
  7. Razouille

    Razouille

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Posts:
    42
    I sent the issue to the Unity QA, they answered me :"We have been able to reproduce this bug and have sent it for resolution with our developers. We cannot say when the resolution will be publicly available."
    I hope it will be fixed for the next update, it's really annoying !
     
    Louis-N-D and theANMATOR2b like this.
  8. Louis-N-D

    Louis-N-D

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Posts:
    223
    I can't find it in the issue tracker. Do you have a link you could provide?
     
  9. Razouille

    Razouille

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Posts:
    42
    I checked "Public Issue Tracker" but there is no way to find it currently, maybe it's already on their TODO list ? If they publish it later on the issue tracker don't worry i'll post the link below.
     
  10. Mecanim-Dev

    Mecanim-Dev

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    1,674
    Hi guys,

    We did a fix for this yesterday, It should be available soon in a patch release
     
  11. JasonB

    JasonB

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Posts:
    76
    I was very hopeful for this fix being included in the patch release that just came out today, but it's not there.

    This is seriously hindering my workflow. Now I'm worried how much longer it's going to take before the fix is in.
     
  12. joeee19

    joeee19

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Posts:
    54
    May be me to this problem...
    All events execute in a blendtree's animations.
    in Unity5.2.0p1.
     
  13. JasonB

    JasonB

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Posts:
    76
    Yeah, because the patch didn't have the fix in it.
     
    ManilaSky likes this.
  14. wstar3

    wstar3

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    This bug, yes this bug, anyone can tell me if there will be a fix????? Really emergency really important
     
  15. Mecanim-Dev

    Mecanim-Dev

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    1,674
    Bug is fixed and the next patch release should be released this week.

    Thanks guys.
     
    Razouille likes this.
  16. Mecanim-Dev

    Mecanim-Dev

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    1,674
  17. JasonB

    JasonB

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Posts:
    76
    Hrm, I don't see the fix mentioned anywhere in the patch notes. Guess I'll upgrade anyways.
     
  18. JasonB

    JasonB

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Posts:
    76
    Can confirm that the fix is not in 5.2.1. The issue persists.
     
  19. Razouille

    Razouille

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Posts:
    42
    Same here, issue still there :(
     
  20. undeadx

    undeadx

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    Same here, issue still there :((2)

    plz help me!
     
  21. McMayhem

    McMayhem

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Posts:
    443
    Apparently, despite being given the link to 5.2.1 making you think that was the 5.2.1 the fix was included in, the actual "patch release" isn't coming out until next week.

    The 5.2.1 linked here by Mecanim.Dev is actually just 5.2.0p1 with two extra fixes and does not include the fix to the issue above.

    You'll have to wait one more week, sorry.
     
  22. Mecanim-Dev

    Mecanim-Dev

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    1,674
    Yeah sorry about that my bad. With Unite going on there were some confusion about release.

    This fix should in the next patch release 5.2.1p1
     
    Mish and McMayhem like this.
  23. Razouille

    Razouille

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Posts:
    42
    I confirm it's fixed now in the 5.2.1p1, thx for the support !
     
  24. wstar3

    wstar3

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    However seems like this bug doesn't get fixed. I'm still struggling from the workaround for this problem, anyone can give a solution?
     
  25. Mecanim-Dev

    Mecanim-Dev

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    1,674
    This is another bug, did you filed a bug report with your project?
     
  26. Devtactics

    Devtactics

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Posts:
    3
    The issue I described appears to be fixed in 5.2.2. I didn't realize it was a separate bug from the one in the OP but I'm grateful that it's been fixed.
     
  27. clearrose

    clearrose

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Posts:
    349
    now, we have a issue with the blend trees in 5.2.2. our animation isn't transitioning back out of the blend tree.
     
  28. ekoops

    ekoops

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Posts:
    74
    We are experiencing the same. About to update to 5.2.3 and can see there are a few new fixes for blend tree mentioned so hopefully this issue goes away
     
  29. nbg_yalta

    nbg_yalta

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Posts:
    375
    Unity 5.3.0f4.

    1D Blend tree with 2 animations, both have same events at 0 time. The second animation fires event twice.
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2015
  30. impactit

    impactit

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Posts:
    41
    Hey

    I have strange problem. Blend tree 1D walk / run animations (nothing fancy). When I walk events works corectly, but when I run events from run and walk fires (!!??!!). Unity 5.3.2f1 ;/. Any ideas ?


    Andrzej
     
  31. PerunCreative

    PerunCreative

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2015
    Posts:
    113
    Hi

    I am running on 5.3.5 and I have same problem using 2D freeform cartesian. It looks that blend tree wont stop firing events when it's switched to another animation inside that tree, even though they are firing different function in script. Is seems that it is broken in 5.3.
     
unityunity