Search Unity

'Maze' traversing ML Agent problems

Discussion in 'ML-Agents' started by StewedHarry, Jul 18, 2020.

1. StewedHarry

StewedHarry

I was wondering if I could get some help with my ML Agent project. I'm new to machine learning and know nothing in regards to ML theory.

I have designed a very simple procedural environment made of blocks (tiles), with a perimeter and two exit points. Inside the perimeter I have place more blocks at even distances apart. Each time the environment resets, a chosen amount of blocks are added to this skeleton to block off certain paths.

e.g. here is an empty skeleton:
    empty 2.png

and here is one additional tile added to the skeleton:

empty.png

The agent is spawned randomly in the first row. Its observations are the position of the nearest exit, its own position, and a Ray Perception Sensor with a ray for each direction around the agent (N, NE, E , SE....). The agent is given +1 reward for reaching the exit, and this reward is tapered in accordance with how long the agent took to do it:

Code (CSharp):
    1. AddReward(-1f/MaxStep);
    I have had some limited success using PPO, using the config file of the pyramid example from the ML-agents repo. However, I found that if the agent was to go down a dead-end, it would get stuck there until the end of the episode. To remedy this I tried to add the curiosity intrinsic reward, but the behaviour persisted.

The training runs were not particularly long, although I didn't see any improvement in these dead-end scenarios after around 5 hours of training.

I then came across a paper cited in the documentation which recommended SAC for maze like, or path finding situations. However, when I tried to use this algorithm with the equivalent SAC config from the pyramids examples the agents tended to lose any initial success in finding the exits, and proceeded to consistently jitter about in the corner.