Search Unity

Assets (maybe) Lamps Asset --need feedback

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by Kloper, Aug 15, 2017.

1. Kloper

Kloper

This is my first attempt to make game assets so feedback//critique is very welcome!

I made a few lamps that I plan to put into the asset store for free.
    The idea is to use this as a free sample and see if there is any interest and if so, I could make some more lamps and maybe charge a few bucks.

This lamps are based on some real lamps that I found online, they are not exact copies but very similar to the real lamps... is that something that may cause copyright issues?

Here are the lamps:

Thanks!

alexanderameye likes this.
  2. hopeful

hopeful

I'm not aware of copyright issues, but the models look very nice to me! :)

3. Serinx

Serinx

I don't think using a reference image is copyright infringement - they can't prove you've used one anyway.

The lamps look good. I'd recommend adding some basic/standard lamps too as they are all quite unique and people might just want to create a normal looking room.

4. Kloper

Kloper

Thanks for feedback!
    You guys don't think that the poly count is a bit high? I really don't know what should be an appropriate number, but I personally just don't like real low poly stuff where you see all the polygons while moving around the object.
    I guess I could optimise this and reduce it by maybe another 10-15% but not much more.

Also I think if people even use this models, its probably gonna be more in visualisation stuff and not really games... but I don't know.

5. hopeful

hopeful

It's easier to reduce polys than to add them, so I'm generally fine with starting off big and with nice looking objects. I have an asset I can use to decimate objects for making LODs, if that's what I want.