Search Unity

maya looping an export on each frame

Discussion in 'Asset Importing & Exporting' started by jin76, Jan 11, 2014.

1. jin76

jin76

Hello, I have the task of exporting every frame of several animations as separate obj files. I am trying to automate this process via MEL scripting. Although I am just a beginner in Mel scripting I have tried my best to write the script. I have written most of the script however i am having a hard time with changing the name of the file after each export so that it doesn't replace the previous. Here is what I have so far:
    Code (csharp):
    2. for ( $i =1 ; $i <=50; $i++)
    3.  {
    5.  currentTime $i ;
    6.   file -force -options "groups=1;ptgroups=1;materials=1;smoothing=1;normal  s=1" -type "OBJexport" -pr -ea "C:/Users/Com/Desktop/Models/Model_01_rig/Keyboard/test_1/model.obj";
    8.  }
    As you can see its a simple for loop however what ends up happening is that each export replaces the file created before it due to them having the same file name. I need a way to change the export file name after each export so it shows up as 50 differently named files.

I hope someone can help me,
    Thanks.

Last edited: Jan 11, 2014
  2. SomeDude

SomeDude

See if this works.

Code (csharp):
    2. for ( $i =1 ; $i <=50; $i++)
    3. {  
    4. currentTime $i ;
    6. file -force -options "groups=1;ptgroups=1;materials=1;smoothing=1;normal  s=1" -type "OBJexport" -pr -ea ("C:/Users/Com/Desktop/Models/Model_01_rig/Keyboard/test_1/model" + $i +".obj");
    7.  }