Search Unity

Material Property Block

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by taloskal, Aug 10, 2020.

1. taloskal

taloskal

Hello there, new to Unity. I am working on a project that heavily depends on GPU instancing, however I need to set a material property block for color, albedo, normal and occlusion masks, as well as tiling. This is such that I can batch objects that use the same material with variants of these 5 properties. Does anyone know any free resource that meets these requirements? Material property blocks seem very important yet the free resources I've been able to find are basic and sparse. I am also very new to shaders so I haven't been able to do much myself...

Many thanks in advance.

Last edited: Aug 10, 2020
  2. bgolus

bgolus

Because what you want to do is somewhere between impossible and very advanced.

GPU instancing only allows you to modify numerical values between instances. Textures are not numerical values, and thus two meshes cannot be instanced if they use different textures. So if you use the material property block to set different textures, it'll be breaking instancing and be no better (or potentially worse) than if it wasn't instanced at all.

GPU instancing works by taking all of the numerical values and putting them into arrays. The CPU then tells the GPU "render x number of this mesh". The shader then gets told which number of the instance it is, and that value can be used to get the correct value from the array. GPUs do not support arrays of textures*, hence why you can't have instanced meshes with different textures.

The answer is "use a
    Texture2DArray
    ". Which sounds like I'm saying "do the thing I just said GPUs can't do". But a
    Texture2DArray
    is a texture type that the GPU considers to be a "single texture", it just happens to have several layers. It's basically a
    Texture3D
    that doesn't do any filtering between the third axis. So you have to manually generate a
    Texture2DArray