Search Unity

  1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

MatchMaker issue : Working from the same PC, not working from different PC ?!?

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by MornFall, Jun 29, 2015.

  1. MornFall

    MornFall

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Posts:
    160
    HI all.

    While pulling my hair trying to make this all work , i just found out something.. weird ?

    Basically, from the same pc, i can launch two different client, start matchmaker, create a match, the second build joins it , all good.

    When i try from two differrent PC : I am getting Timeouts from the client... it sees the match, try to connect to the host, timeouts.

    Any idea ? Before i give up and simply try another network solution ?
     
  2. MornFall

    MornFall

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Posts:
    160
    SO i have put the network manager to Developer Output. And this is what i get :

    Code (CSharp):
    1. Client Relay Slot Id: -1
    2. UnityEngine.Networking.NetworkClient:Connect(MatchInfo)
    3. ManNetwork:MatchJoined(JoinMatchResponse) (at Assets/XLink Assets/Scripts/Network/ManNetwork.cs:102)
    4. UnityEngine.Networking.Match.<ProcessMatchResponse>c__Iterator0`1:MoveNext()
    5.  
    6. Client event: host=0 event=DisconnectEvent error=6
    7. UnityEngine.Networking.NetworkIdentity:UNetStaticUpdate()
    8.  
    9. Client disconnected
    10. UnityEngine.Networking.NetworkIdentity:UNetStaticUpdate()
    11.  
    12.  
    And then a big " Client Disconnect" ...

    Coud still use some help, please....
     
  3. MornFall

    MornFall

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Posts:
    160
    Alright... I could seriously use some help here...

    I managed to narrowed it down a little bit ...

    The connection between the two PC works when i am using the NetworkManagedHud component, with the runtime GUI.
    But when i try my own Match Script, that s when it fails. And something is missing when i do it with my script.
    So : This is a screen of both the HUDs :
    WTF.jpg

    And here is my code :
    Code (CSharp):
    1. void Start ()
    2.     {
    3.         StartMatchMaker() ;
    4.         networkMatch = GetComponent<NetworkMatch>();
    5.         UnityEngine.Networking.Types.AppID appid = (UnityEngine.Networking.Types.AppID)41551;
    6.         networkMatch.SetProgramAppID(appid);  
    7.     }
    8.  
    9.     //Start the 1v1 Matcher
    10.     public void Start1V1 ()
    11.     {
    12.         networkMatch.ListMatches(0, 20, "", ListMatch);  
    13.     }
    14.  
    15.     public void ListMatch(ListMatchResponse matchListResponse)
    16.     {
    17.         if (matchListResponse.success && matchListResponse.matches != null)
    18.         {
    19.             matchList = matchListResponse.matches ;
    20.             matchCount = matchList.Count ;
    21.  
    22.             //No Match Found
    23.             if (matchList.Count == 0)
    24.             {
    25.                 CreateMatch() ;
    26.             }
    27.             else
    28.             {
    29.                 FindAMatch () ;
    30.             }          
    31.         }
    32.     }
    33.  
    34.     public void CreateMatch ()
    35.     {
    36.         CreateMatchRequest create = new CreateMatchRequest();
    37.         create.name = "TestMatch" ;
    38.         create.size = 2 ;
    39.         create.advertise = true ;
    40.         create.password = "" ;
    41.         networkMatch.CreateMatch(create, MatchCreated);
    42.     }
    43.  
    44.     public void MatchCreated (CreateMatchResponse matchResponse)
    45.     {
    46.         if (matchResponse.success)
    47.         {
    48.             matchCreated = true ;
    49.             Utility.SetAccessTokenForNetwork(matchResponse.networkId, new NetworkAccessToken(matchResponse.accessTokenString));
    50.             NetworkServer.Listen(new MatchInfo(matchResponse), 9000);
    51.             Start1V1AsHost() ;
    52.         }
    53.         else
    54.         {
    55.             print ("Failed during Match Creation") ;
    56.         }  
    57.     }
    58.  
    59.     public void FindAMatch()
    60.     {
    61.         networkMatch.JoinMatch(matchList[0].networkId, "", MatchJoined);
    62.     }
    63.  
    64.     public void MatchJoined (JoinMatchResponse matchJoin)
    65.     {
    66.         if (matchJoin.success)
    67.         {
    68.             matchJoined = true ;  
    69.             Utility.SetAccessTokenForNetwork(matchJoin.networkId, new NetworkAccessToken(matchJoin.accessTokenString));
    70.             NetworkClient myClient = new NetworkClient();
    71.             myClient.RegisterHandler(MsgType.Connect, OnConnected);
    72.             myClient.Connect(new MatchInfo(matchJoin));
    73.         }
    74.         else
    75.         {
    76.             print("Failed to Join Match") ;
    77.         }  
    78.     }
    79.  
    80.     public void OnConnected(NetworkMessage msg)
    81.     {
    82.         StartClient() ;  
    83.     }
    84.  
    85.     public void Start1V1AsHost ()
    86.     {
    87.         StartHost() ;
    88.         controller.hosting = true ;
    89.         controller.StartCoroutine("Start1V1") ;  
    90.     }
    91.  
    92.     //When Player Prefab gets Created
    93.     public override void OnServerAddPlayer(NetworkConnection conn, short playerControllerId)
    94.     {
    95.         controller.playersInGame ++ ;
    96.         var player = (GameObject)GameObject.Instantiate(playerPrefab, new Vector3(0,0,0) , Quaternion.identity);
    97.         if (controller.playersInGame == 1) { player.GetComponent<NetPlayer>().team = 1 ; }
    98.         if (controller.playersInGame == 2) { player.GetComponent<NetPlayer>().team = 2 ; }
    99.         NetworkServer.AddPlayerForConnection(conn, player, playerControllerId);
    100.     }
    I am getting desperate here...
     
    Raiden-Freeman likes this.
  4. MornFall

    MornFall

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Posts:
    160
    Found it...

    modified for :

    matchInfo = new MatchInfo(matchResponse);
    Utility.SetAccessTokenForNetwork(matchResponse.networkId, new NetworkAccessToken(matchResponse.accessTokenString));
    StartHost(matchInfo) ;

    and :

    matchJoined = true ;
    matchInfo = new MatchInfo(matchJoin);
    Utility.SetAccessTokenForNetwork(matchJoin.networkId, new NetworkAccessToken(matchJoin.accessTokenString));;
    StartClient(matchInfo) ;


    Thanks JetBrains.dotPeek
     
  5. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    29,723
    Please report this as a bug (pretty sure it is).
     
  6. clarson2974

    clarson2974

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Posts:
    20
    On Unity 5.2.0f3 and I had this exact same problem, and was able to resolve with what you put in your post. You saved me a lot of headache, so thank you!
     
  7. ben-maurin

    ben-maurin

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Posts:
    47
    Thank you Feydwin ! saved me lot of time