Search Unity

  1. Unity 2020.1 has been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Massive Clouds Atmos / Massive Clouds

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by mewlist, Nov 9, 2018.

  1. joseluisgdeandrade

    joseluisgdeandrade

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Hey, first of i'll like to say amazing work and very interesting asset, now my question is how can i get this to work in VRChat, because i saw your world in VRChat and it looked amazing,but i cannot seem to get it to work on my end. i'm using it in as a Post Processing V2.
     
  2. Duende

    Duende

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Posts:
    121
    Hmm, maybe it could work, I would have to test it in my project. :)
    So wouldn't it be possible to edit the noise texture in runtime? Because my game is procedural and everything is generated at runtime. If, for example, there is a cave within the mountain, and the cloud go through the mountain, I suppose the cave would be filled with clouds, right?

    I'm also using Tenkoku, do you know if your asset is compatible?
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2020
  3. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    I describe about "Procedure for using MassiveCloudsMaterialExporter" in Page40 of document.pdf.
    Please try this.

    Thanks.
     
  4. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Sorry, noise texture is not editable.

    About second question,
    If cave have same height, It will filled with clouds.
     
    Duende likes this.
  5. Duende

    Duende

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Posts:
    121
    Hmm, in that case I don't think your asset is compatible with my project. Anyway I will follow the news of your asset in case the situation changes. :p

    Thank you very much for answering. It's a very good asset, good job. :)
     
  6. r3ndesigner

    r3ndesigner

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Posts:
    129
    An Upgrade from massive clouds will be great, dont want to buy the new one for the full price xD
     
  7. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Sorry, I give up to set grace days.
    But Atmos will be able to be upgraded from the current Massive Cloud for a difference.
    I planed that Massive Clouds is as Lite Edition of Atmos.
    And, introducing price also will be applied.

    Almost work has been done.
    If it released I will announce here.

    Massive Clouds Atmos demo movie is published.
    You can see what it will evolve on Atmos.



    Thanks.
    Please wait for a bit more.
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2020
  8. Temka_193

    Temka_193

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Posts:
    35
    Hello to all! The developer unfortunately does not reply in private messages.
    I will ask here.
    For some reason, cloud shadows on HDRP do not work for me. Sometimes they flash for one frame, then disappear.
    Shadows in the project are enabled and work. Shadows are cast from all objects except clouds.
    What could be the problem?
     
  9. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Sorry I didn't notice the Connect message.
    I sent message on Unity Connect.

    Thanks.
     
  10. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Bartolomeus755 likes this.
  11. antsonthetree

    antsonthetree

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Posts:
    75
    Just purchased this - pretty clouds - have an issue. See attached image. The dark text on dark background is too hard to read. Can you lighten the background up to match other unity editor panels please? upload_2020-6-30_10-20-49.png
     
  12. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Thank you for use my asset and reporting.
    I will improve that.
     
  13. antsonthetree

    antsonthetree

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Posts:
    75
    Great - Question: Is there a way to set the 3d main cloud shape with a texture or with primitives?
     
  14. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,390
    I'm interested in Atmos. Can you please post screenshots with natural colors? Everything in the asset's description has a red tint.
     
  15. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Hi.

    Sorry, it can not control specific shape.
    Clouds are generated from noise textures.
     
  16. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Ok. I will post here later.
     
  17. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,390
    Don't worry, I'll just buy it. The upgrade price isn't that much and you are always very responsive, so totally worth supporting :)
     
  18. antsonthetree

    antsonthetree

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Posts:
    75
    If I edit the noise textures will that alter the shape of the clouds? I see you are using a Texture3D. Is there a tool I can use to view/modify/create my own 3d noise texture?
     
  19. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    https://mewli.st/MassiveCloudsDemo/v5.0.0-low/
    I prepared WebGL Demo built with Built-in Render Pipeline.
    Time slider controls day time and you can see how change color and light.

    This demo is adjust as low quality setting for WebGL.
    Thanks.
     
  20. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Adjusting the noise will add some variation. We will prepare tools for that, so please wait for a while
     
  21. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,390
    I agree with antsonthetree. Please stick with the standard user interface of unity. That custom layout doesn't work. It's hardly readable at all.
     
  22. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Sorry for inconvenience.
    I agree that when Unity Editor theme is set Personal, hard to read text.
    I will fix them.
     
  23. olavrv

    olavrv

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Posts:
    219
    Does this system result in a physically accurate skybox environment, such as a HDRI - with correct light intensity for ambient light and reflections, and using realistic exposure values?
     
  24. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Massive Cloods Atmos can behave as HDRP Sky and you can use internal Procedural Sky for AmbientProbe.
    And the cloud can be rendered into Reflection Probe.(Ambient Probe is rendered with only sky)
    HDRI image can not set to Sky Renderer.
     
  25. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    I have released Version1.0.1.
    UI color problems with Personal Skin are fixed.
    Please try to upgrade.

    Thanks.
     
    antsonthetree and Rowlan like this.
  26. olavrv

    olavrv

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Posts:
    219
    Sounds great! How about single pass instanced for VR HDRP? We mainly develop VR projects, and would love to use your solution!
     
  27. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
  28. transat

    transat

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Posts:
    720
    I still haven't been able to use Massive Clouds (and now Massive Atmos) in 2020.1 or 2020.2 because of some weirdness where the clouds rotate along with the camera rather than staying still. Has anyone else experienced this?
     
  29. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Hi. I test Massive Clouds Atmos on 2020.1.0b14 with HDRP.
    And It looks working.

    Please could you tell me more detail of your Unity Version, Pipeline and Setup Mode(CameraEffect, PPSv2 or HDRP Sky etc).
     

    Attached Files:

  30. transat

    transat

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Posts:
    720
    I’m on URP 8 using the render feature. Last version I tested this in was 2020.2a16 but I’ve had the issue for a while. I’m using a third person controller and the camera rotates around the character.
     
  31. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Thanks.
    I will try to reproduce on URP and 2020.2.
     
  32. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    I have reproduced problems on Unity2020.2

    On URP, Camera rotation of Cloud Rendering is broken...
    upload_2020-7-10_2-45-37.png

    And, Caching Preprocessor Option(in Project Settings -> Editor page) cause shader error.
    If this option unchecked, shader is working (re-import required).

    I will investigate it.

    Thank you for reporting.
     
    transat likes this.
  33. cgallagher1486

    cgallagher1486

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    @mewlist Hi Mewlist, I have just bought "Massive Clouds" and it is perfect for my project! I love it!

    I am having an issue though (I apologise if this is really obvious!)

    When I'm in scene view I get a ""null reference exception" error that adds up until an eventual crash.

    From what I have read "null reference exception" errors are very common but I still am at a loss on how to reslove it
    (I am very new to coding so I am sorry if this is basic stuff!)

    If it helps, I have noticed when I turn off the Post processing layer component on my main camera the errors stop. The problem seems to be connected to the "Post processing v2" and the "Massive clouds" not communicating properly but I am unsure?
    I am using Unity 2019 42f1 with the built in 3D pipeline aslo if this helps?

    Cheers for any pointers!
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 12, 2020
  34. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Thank you for report.
    I investigate it with PPSv2.
     
  35. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    At Massive Clouds version4, Massive Clouds depends on "MainCamera" Tag.
    Could you set tag on MainCamera
    upload_2020-7-13_2-16-44.png

    If you can not set because Project structure reason,
    Please try to overwrite MassiveClouds/Script/PostProcessing/AbstractMassiveCloudsEffectRenderer.cs by attached Script.

    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  36. cgallagher1486

    cgallagher1486

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    @mewlist Hi just to follow on from my original post ^

    I have started using Massive Clouds Atmos to see if I had more luck but I have buttons that are missing in my version of unity and Atmos when looking at the setup instructions. I am sorry if I am just being stupid!

    Any help would be greatly appricated as I realy want to stat using it!

    Thanks

    Chris.
     

    Attached Files:

    mewlist likes this.
  37. cgallagher1486

    cgallagher1486

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    @mewlist Ah thanks for the quick reply! I will try that now! :)
     
    mewlist likes this.
  38. cgallagher1486

    cgallagher1486

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    That stopped the errors! I am sorry for being so stupid! It look's amazing now I have it going :) Thank you so much!
     
    mewlist likes this.
  39. MicCode

    MicCode

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Posts:
    20
    mewlist likes this.
  40. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Thank you for reporting the problem of document !
    I will fix this.
     
  41. MicCode

    MicCode

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Posts:
    20
    In HDRP Sky mode
    Having trouble to make the HDRP fog work correctly with massive cloud, the HDRP fog render over the cloud and it's not using the sky color
    I noticed that massive cloud has it's own fog which should replaced the HDRP exponential fog, but I want to keep the HDRP volumetric fog, and the HDRP settings cannot turn on volumetric fog only.

    Anyway to make this work?
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      193.6 KB
      Views:
      12
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      176.3 KB
      Views:
      12
  42. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Thank you for reporting.

    Sorry, this problem is difficult to solve completely.
    (To fix this we need to change HDRP pipeline code...)
    Because HDRP Fog has individual pass in their Pipeline.
    First SkyPass is rendered and then Fog is rendered.



    https://docs.unity3d.com/Packages/c...s.high-definition@8.1/manual/Custom-Pass.html

    Camera under cloud, it works correctly. But when camera is over cloud, HDRP Fog overwrite Sky pass results.

    Control HDRP Fog "Fog Attenuation Distance" or "Max Fog Distance" by camera height, it might reduce this problem.
     
  43. MicCode

    MicCode

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Posts:
    20
    Thanks for the quick response,
    this is already massive improvement from the original massive cloud.

    Just wondering how the HDRP fog works with the HDRI sky and physically based sky,
    when the fog color mode is set to "Sky Color",
    they managed to pick up the color from the sky that rendered before them

    From the HDRP documentation:
    https://docs.unity3d.com/Packages/c....high-definition@7.4/manual/Override-Fog.html
    Sky Color: HDRP shades the fog with a color it samples from the sky cubemap and its mipmaps.
    Constant Color: HDRP shades the fog with the color you set manually in the Constant Color field that appears when you select this option.

    So it seems the fog sample the cube map from the HDRI sky directly, and the physically based sky generate it's own cube map when updated (the fog use the ground color in the PB sky config).

    3.jpg
    4.jpg
    Maybe massive cloud can do the same,
    I suspect the HDRP fog is sampling the "DefaultHDRISky" cubemap by default, which gives the brownish ground below.
     
  44. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Hi

    HDRP pipeline render Sky into cubemap internally for Ambient Lighting.
    It looks Fog use this cubemap and Scene Directional Lighting. (I'm not sure of the details of hdrp fog implementations)

    upload_2020-7-15_0-30-49.png
    When AmbientMode is set to "Dynamic" in VisualEnvironment, Sky Renderer of Massive Clouds(or selected renderer of Sky Type in Visual Environment) is used for rendering the cubemap.
    When AmbientMode is set to "Static", Static Lighting Sky setting is used for rendering the cubemap.



    Static Lighting Sky setting is found in Unity Lighting settings page.

    upload_2020-7-15_0-28-55.png

    Massive Clouds is also available for this setting.
     
  45. dmchaderer

    dmchaderer

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2019
    Posts:
    6
    Hi Mewlist,

    I just purchased the MassiveCloudsAtmos and the clouds look amazing. But I can’t say that for the sky. I feel for the look I am trying to achieve Unity’s Physically Based sky gives me much more natural looking results. And I haven’t managed to create something like that from the AtmosPad.
    Is it possible to render only the clouds without the Atmos sky on top of the Physically Based sky?
    If its not possible by the settings exposed in the editor maybe you can give some hints where I can start hacking

    Best
    Dominik
     
  46. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Thank you for your message.

    Please try this.

    * Setup Massive Clouds Atmos as CustomPassVolume using Wizard (first uninstall sky setup if already install).
    * Disable Massive Clouds Atmos Sky rendering in PhysicsRenderer inspector
    upload_2020-7-15_2-10-1.png
    * Setup Physically Based Sky in Sky Volume.

    But, Sorry.
    Custom Pass Setup has limitation for rendering order problem with HDRP Fog.
    upload_2020-7-15_2-12-54.png

    This image is Physically Based Sky and Clouds.
    upload_2020-7-15_2-14-6.png

    Currently no API Doc for Physics Renderer.
    But it can be controlled from script.
    I implement them in AtmosPad.cs

    All public API of PhysicsRenderer is called from AtmosPad.cs Line 38
    upload_2020-7-15_2-19-9.png

    Would these help you?
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2020
    keeponshading likes this.
  47. tnpcook1

    tnpcook1

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Hi,

    Has there been any solution or workaround for using Crest Ocean HDRP and HDRP fog?
    I've read through the thread's history, and some of the specific fixes in the past seem to have been largely changed for atmos' release.

    I have tried using a custom pass(to also use physic sky), and none of the options let fog work.
    With the standard install, hdrp fog seems to work, but Crest does not.

    edit: it would also be nice to use HDRI or PB sky in these situations too.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 16, 2020
  48. ELITEMASTER321

    ELITEMASTER321

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    does anyone know how to change the time at realtime? I've got a script that controls the time of day but I can't work out how to link it to the time for the clouds. I'm using the atmos pad script btw.
     
  49. netpost

    netpost

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Posts:
    224
    @mewlist

    This is a great asset! I just have some problems setting up the speed of the clouds. I tried adding the Massive Clouds scriptable scroll sample to the camera but even if I change the 500 value to zero, the speed is not changing at all. This should be easier to do. Am I missing something? (not a programmer by the way) ;)

    Just another quick question. Is there a way or place to adjust the time of the day with a slider like in the demos.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2020
  50. djlins

    djlins

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Posts:
    10
    Hi there,
    I'm really keen to give this a try but I am having troubles with something I am doing. If I run through with you what I am setting up would you be able to tell me if I am missing a setting please?

    • Unity Version = 2019.3.11f1
    • Set up a new URP project
    • Run the test scene and all looks fine
    • purchase and Import
      Massive Clouds - Screen Space Volumetric Clouds
      v4.1.1
    • run the package
      MassiveClouds_Unity2019.3_UniversalRP7.0.1
    • Open the scene
      \Assets\MassiveClouds\SampleScene\BeyondTheCloudsDemo.unity
    • Try and run it (Everything is Pink) so select
      -Edit-RenderPipeline-Universal Render Pipeline-Upgrade Project Materials to UniversalRP Materials
    • Run it again and I see a pink landscape, the paper planes are now textured but there are still no clouds.
    • None of the demo scenes shows any clouds.
    Would you know what I might be missing?
    Thanks in advance,
    Lindsay.

     
unityunity