Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Massive Clouds Atmos / Massive Clouds

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by mewlist, Nov 9, 2018.

  1. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,443
    A nice addition would be rainbows, if that were possible :)
     
  2. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Environment and weather system is required for MassiveClouds:)
     
  3. olix4242

    olix4242

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Posts:
    1,682
    Just tried out Massive Clouds, and I must say that it looks really good and performance is great.
    What is missing (if I'm not wrong) is that clouds doesn't render into a Reflection Probe. There should be a way to somehow influence also Reflection Probes (and sky), as this is essential for correct ambient lighting and reflections of, for example, large water surfaces.
    Am I missing this feature, and if not, is this planned?
     
  4. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Thank you for using Massive Clouds
    As a Camera Effect, Reflection Probe does not capture Clouds.

    I found how to render clouds into probe.

    1. First, create Clouds Material using MaterialExporter.
    2. Then, cover the probe using Sphere Mesh with Clouds Material.
    3. Set Clear Flags to Solid Color
    4. Your Reflection Probe renders Clouds.

    This way, you can not skybox clear flag. So, You need to set single color as a Sky Color by Background Color.

    Thanks.
     
  5. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    I have released Version3.2.0
    And now you can use unlimited number of layers.

    thanks.
     
  6. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Hello.

    I am preparing new High Performance, Low Artifacts and Real renderer.
    This is named Authentic Renderer.
    First I plan to release this in next version.

    Thanks.
     
  7. Migueljb

    Migueljb

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Posts:
    524
    What if I wanted to make static skybox's for 360 video and make the system achieve its highest quality that it can go being its going to be captured into a video and not render in realtime. Is there a way I can create the look I am after then once that is achieved make the entire system stay static and not move or morph in anyway so the sky can be captured into a 360 stereo or mono video?
     
  8. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Do you use Unity Recoder to render 360 stereo video?
    Static rendering is not supported on Massive Clouds. But, it can be set no moving with zero scrolling velocity.
    I have not test 360 recording, so I will test it.
     
  9. Migueljb

    Migueljb

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Posts:
    524
    I use VR Panorama for all 360 stereo and mono videos. Ya if the clouds can just stay put and just look good at the highest level thats all that matters. Reason being is when you try to loop the video when clouds stay put it helps to minimize or notice when the loop happens in the video.
     
  10. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Finally I am working on Godray feature.
    I found a way to implement Godray and I think it will be available in next version !

    Thanks.

    upload_2019-6-29_22-16-15.png
     
    mmaclaurin, Rowlan and DMeville like this.
  11. el-RERS

    el-RERS

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Posts:
    9
    Hello, I just bought this asset today. I'm having a HUGE problem: I'm currently using Unity 2019.1.4f1 Personal. I'm not using neither the LDRP nor the HDRP; just the standard unity settings.

    To use this asset, I'm putting both, the Massive Clouds component and the Massive Clouds Camera Effect component in my camera:



    And in the Editor, in Game Mode, it looks fine (BTW, The sea of clouds you see below the mountains is another asset called "Volumetric Fog"):



    However, the clouds completely dissappear once I build the game (The clouds in the sky, which is the Massive Clouds asset, dissappear and only the default skybox can be seen):


    I don't understand why is this happening, I'm in need of your support...

    EDIT: by the way, I just tried making a build of the demo scene. Again, it works fine in the editor but after i build it the clouds don't appear either!
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2019
  12. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Thank you for using Massive Clouds
    Will you please set shader variants in graphics setting of unity?
    (It is also described in document.)

    I hope this will help you!
     
  13. el-RERS

    el-RERS

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Posts:
    9
    Welp, now I feel dumb, that sure worked! thank you so much! ...

    but now I'm having another issue: Is there a way to alter the Profiles' parameters and see them change in real time? When I change the parameters of the profile that is in the Layers part of the "Massive Clouds" component, absolutely nothing happens... I only see the changes if I switch the profile for any other and then I put the first profile again.
     
  14. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    When click the layer on componet, parameter editor is shown under layers inspector.
    upload_2019-7-2_23-46-10.png
    You can edit them on it, and save them.
    will you try this!
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2019
  15. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Hello.
    God Ray feature is work in progress.
    I continue to work to release next version !

    I estimate this will be spent a several weeks more.

    Thanks.
    upload_2019-7-4_2-11-13.png
     
  16. el-RERS

    el-RERS

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Posts:
    9
    It worked! Such complicated issues with, luckily, such simple answers. Thanks! You won your 5 stars.
     
    mewlist likes this.
  17. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Version 3.2.1 is released
    This version is small bug fix update.
    Thanks.
     
  18. Ruberta

    Ruberta

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2019
    Posts:
    74
    Is this support HDRP in Unity 2019.1 yet?
     
  19. SirFranc

    SirFranc

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Posts:
    1
    Hi! I've bought this asset and I must say that it's absolutely fantastic, I love the results - truly top notch.

    Thank you for the high quality work!
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2019
    mewlist likes this.
  20. mmaclaurin

    mmaclaurin

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Posts:
    244
    Hello, I'm having problems setting up LWRP support.

    1. Project is using LWRP
    2. Set renderer type to custom
    3. Created custom renderer and assigned to renderer data
    3. Added massive clouds LWRPScriptableRendererFeature to the custom renderer

    This is all that's described in the LWRP setup instructions, but it does not result in clouds showing in the scene or game window.

    What I don't see is how to associate the profile with this renderer. What other steps am I missing?
     
  21. mmaclaurin

    mmaclaurin

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Posts:
    244
    Okay, I found the problem was that I still needed to put the Massive Clouds component on the camera. Would be good to put this in the LWRP setup instructions.
     
    mewlist likes this.
  22. mmaclaurin

    mmaclaurin

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Posts:
    244
    However, I am still not able to successfully run a build on iOS with LWRP. I get an all-black screen and this spew in the console.

    ArgumentOutOfRangeException: Index was out of range. Must be non-negative and less than the size of the collection. Parameter name: index at System.ThrowHelper.ThrowArgumentOutOfRangeException (System.ExceptionArgument argument, System.ExceptionResource resource) [0x00000] in <00000000000000000000000000000000>:0 at System.ThrowHelper.ThrowArgumentOutOfRangeException (System.ExceptionArgument argument, System.ExceptionResource resource) [0x00000] in <00000000000000000000000000000000>:0 at System.Collections.Generic.List`1[T].get_Item (System.Int32 index) [0x00000] in <00000000000000000000000000000000>:0 at Mewlist.MassiveClouds.BuildCommandBuffer (UnityEngine.Rendering.CommandBuffer commandBuffer, UnityEngine.Rendering.RenderTargetIdentifier source, UnityEngine.Rendering.RenderTargetIdentifier destination) [0x00000] in <00000000000000000000000000000000>:0 at MassiveCloudsLWRPScriptableRenderPass.Execute (UnityEngine.Rendering.ScriptableRenderContext context, UnityEngine.Rendering.LWRP.RenderingData& renderingData) [0x00000] in <00000000000000000000000000000000>:0 at UnityEngine.Rendering.LWRP.ScriptableRenderer.ExecuteRenderPass (UnityEngine.Rendering.ScriptableRenderContext context, UnityEngine.Rendering.LWRP.ScriptableRenderPass renderPass, UnityEngine.Rendering.LWRP.RenderingData& renderingData) [0x00000] in <00000000000000000000000000000000>:0 at UnityEngine.Rendering.LWRP.ScriptableRenderer.ExecuteBlock (UnityEngine.Rendering.LWRP.RenderPassEvent startEvent, UnityEngine.Rendering.LWRP.RenderPassEvent endEvent, UnityEngine.Rendering.ScriptableRenderContext context, UnityEngine.Rendering.LWRP.RenderingData& renderingData, System.Boolean submit) [0x00000] in <00000000000000000000000000000000>:0 at UnityEngine.Rendering.LWRP.ScriptableRenderer.Execute
     
  23. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Hello.

    HDRP on Unity 2019.x is not supported yet.
    There is no way to add Image Effect or Custom Render Pass into HDRP.
    In Unity 2019.3
    It seems to be no point to expand their pipeline.
    I wait RenderGraph system will come.
     
    Ruberta likes this.
  24. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Thank you for your report
    I investigate it.
     
    mmaclaurin likes this.
  25. norby

    norby

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Posts:
    274
    Hi Mewlist

    Maybe this has been asked before, but i like to use your clouds with the oculus quest. Do you have an description or workflow how to set it up and what settings to choose ?

    Norby
     
  26. mmaclaurin

    mmaclaurin

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Posts:
    244
    Hi - any updates here? My skies on iPhone are so empty.
     
  27. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Hello

    I reproduce errors on LWRP.
    You mulst set MassiveCloudsShaderVariants into Preloading shaders of ProjectSettings.

    Please try this and build your application!
    Thanks.
    upload_2019-7-21_17-53-22.png
     
    niknakgames and mmaclaurin like this.
  28. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Hello.
    I do not have Oculus Quest, so I can not test on Oculus Quest.
    Is there any problem on build?
     
  29. mmaclaurin

    mmaclaurin

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Posts:
    244
    Thank you for the quick detective work! I will try this.
     
  30. mmaclaurin

    mmaclaurin

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Posts:
    244
    works great!! and WOW looks amazing
     
    mewlist likes this.
  31. mmaclaurin

    mmaclaurin

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Posts:
    244
    Sharing a nice render from a live iOS build. LWRP is a great thing!


    @mewlist I don't think the shadows are interacting with the ocean correctly yet, maybe you can take a look at the LWRP Ocean System "Crest" that I'm using here. It does subsurface scattering underwater based on shadows, so potentially spectacular interaction with your cloud shadows. Crest is open source but the LWRP branch is in the asset store (and works incredibly well.)
     
    mewlist and Rowlan like this.
  32. norby

    norby

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Posts:
    274
    Hi Mewlist
    I am not a programmer, Maybe you can give me a direction
    How to set it up. You only need to install the oculus tools and use a player prefab.
    The thing is that they use two camera's (left and right)

    Norby
     
  33. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Thank you for your nice Movie! I am excited that run on Mobile device!
    I recognize that shadow is difficult to correct result with all case.
    I will try Crest system!
     
    mmaclaurin likes this.
  34. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Hi norby.
    Commonly oculus is setup in PlayerSettings > XR Settings.
    Only add Occulus SDK it will be done.
    upload_2019-7-26_1-38-36.png

    By this way, you do not need to create multiple camera.
    MassiveClouds Demo scene also work only this setting done.
     
  35. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Tasks for version 4.0.0 is almost done.
    I am on last phase of work !

    GodRay is provided as Volumetric Shadow feature.

    And I implement new Authentic Renderer.
    This renders good result in inner cloud situations.

    Thanks.

    upload_2019-7-26_1-47-15.png
     
    mmaclaurin likes this.
  36. norby

    norby

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Posts:
    274
    thanks i will try
     
  37. Elfinnik159

    Elfinnik159

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Posts:
    110
    Hello,
    I bought a lot of assets for the clouds, but each of them does not have some sort of function. And I can not use them together because of the god rays. So I am still looking for great clouds.

    I became interested in this asset, as the clouds in the demonstration looked beautiful and diverse.
    Can you answer the questions so that I know whether this asset fits me:
    1. The most important thing for me: support point light? For example, I need this for beautiful local lightning and other effects.
    Like here:
    upload_2019-7-29_18-46-11.png
    2. As I understood from the discussions in this topic, other objects may be in the clouds. How compatible is this with transparent materials?
    3. Is it possible to simply add custom cloud map or mask?
    4. Is there a possibility of a smooth transition from one type or map of clouds to another?
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2019
  38. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Hello. Thank you for interesting MassiveClouds.
    I reply questions.

    1. Massive Clouds does not have point light support.
    2. With transparent object, It supports only two simple methods. Render clouds after all transparency objects or before transparency objects.
    3. Not supported.
    4. Not smooth. Transition effect is only fade-out then fade-in.
     
    Elfinnik159 likes this.
  39. PhoenixAdvanced

    PhoenixAdvanced

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    217
    Hi,

    This product looks awesome!

    Is it possible to rotate the clouds? IE, if my player is on a spherical planet, and their up axis is not along the positive Y-axis, can I rotate the cloud layer to match the player rotation?

    Thanks.
     
  40. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Hello
    Sorry, rotated or distorted shape is not supported.
     
  41. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Version4 Released
    KeyVisual_1.PNG

    I am happy to announce release of Massive Clouds Version 4 !

    Many new features come!

    - [New] Authentic Renderer added
    - [New] Volumetric Shadow(GodRay)
    - [New] Ambient Lighting Feature
    - [New] Direct Lighting Feature
    - [New] Light Synchronization and adjustment
    - [New] Night Lighting Feature
    - [New] New Clouds Color synchronization modes
    - [New] Height Adjustment UI refined
    - [New] LWRP VR compatible

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2019
    mmaclaurin, Justice-V18 and Rowlan like this.
  42. whidzee

    whidzee

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Posts:
    126
    I am getting an error and i was wondering if you had any idea of what i could be missing here.

    I have my camera on the player's aircraft which is spawned into the scene at run time.

    when i go to play my game all i see is black. (I also see some hud elements, but that's it)

    NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    Mewlist.AbstractMassiveCloudsEffectRenderer`1[T].Render (UnityEngine.Rendering.PostProcessing.PostProcessRenderContext context) (at Assets/MassiveClouds/Script/PostProcessing/AbstractMassiveCloudsEffectRenderer.cs:29)
    UnityEngine.Rendering.PostProcessing.PostProcessLayer.RenderList (System.Collections.Generic.List`1[T] list, UnityEngine.Rendering.PostProcessing.PostProcessRenderContext context, System.String marker) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.postprocessing@2.1.2/PostProcessing/Runtime/PostProcessLayer.cs:1019)
    UnityEngine.Rendering.PostProcessing.PostProcessLayer.RenderInjectionPoint (UnityEngine.Rendering.PostProcessing.PostProcessEvent evt, UnityEngine.Rendering.PostProcessing.PostProcessRenderContext context, System.String marker, System.Int32 releaseTargetAfterUse) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.postprocessing@2.1.2/PostProcessing/Runtime/PostProcessLayer.cs:987)
    UnityEngine.Rendering.PostProcessing.PostProcessLayer.Render (UnityEngine.Rendering.PostProcessing.PostProcessRenderContext context) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.postprocessing@2.1.2/PostProcessing/Runtime/PostProcessLayer.cs:943)
    UnityEngine.Experimental.Rendering.HDPipeline.HDRenderPipeline.RenderPostProcess (UnityEngine.Experimental.Rendering.HDPipeline.HDCamera hdcamera, UnityEngine.Rendering.CommandBuffer cmd, UnityEngine.Rendering.PostProcessing.PostProcessLayer layer) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.render-pipelines.high-definition@4.10.0-preview/Runtime/RenderPipeline/HDRenderPipeline.cs:2367)
    UnityEngine.Experimental.Rendering.HDPipeline.HDRenderPipeline.Render (UnityEngine.Experimental.Rendering.ScriptableRenderContext renderContext, UnityEngine.Camera[] cameras) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.render-pipelines.high-definition@4.10.0-preview/Runtime/RenderPipeline/HDRenderPipeline.cs:1448)
    UnityEngine.Experimental.Rendering.RenderPipelineManager.DoRenderLoop_Internal (UnityEngine.Experimental.Rendering.IRenderPipelineAsset pipe, UnityEngine.Camera[] cameras, System.IntPtr loopPtr) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Runtime/Export/RenderPipeline/RenderPipelineManager.cs:33)
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2019
  43. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Thank you for reporting!
    I will investigate it.
    Are you using HDRP and PPSv2?
    What version of Unity do you use?
    Thanks
     
  44. thomas-weltenbauer

    thomas-weltenbauer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Posts:
    65
    Hello!
    Thank you for your great work!

    Do you have any plans to support consoles (PS4 and Xbox)?

    Best regards
     
  45. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Hello.

    Sorry, I don't have any environment of console devices.
    I think their architecture is compatible for Massive Clouds.
    But I can not check on them.

    thanks
     
  46. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Could you add MassiveClouds Component on your all Camera that has PostProcessLayer ?
     
  47. thomas-weltenbauer

    thomas-weltenbauer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Posts:
    65
    We checked it on the PS4 where it is not working. We could test the Xbox as well.
    Maybe I can provide some useful information for you, so we can get it to work!
     
    mmaclaurin likes this.
  48. mewlist

    mewlist

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Posts:
    226
    Is there any shader errors?
    Could you send me them?
     
  49. thomas-weltenbauer

    thomas-weltenbauer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Posts:
    65
    The test was some time ago. I will create a test project tomorrow and will come back to you.
     
    mewlist likes this.
  50. mmaclaurin

    mmaclaurin

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Posts:
    244
    Hi, I've upgraded to 4.0 for my project, and I'm seeing a lot of black skies. If I load up the authentic god rays as a single layer, the sky is all black, no rays, and only a few wisps of cloud. I'm running on LWRP on Metal, and seeing this on a Mac. I tried removing all Massive Clouds scripts from my project, restarting, and then loading Massive Clouds fresh and it didn't make a difference. Anything else I can check?

    EDIT: Fixed it, was a bug on my side, had the lighting multiplier turned to zero on my sun.
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2019
unityunity