Search Unity

Mask with text on OSX webplayer flickers

Discussion in 'Unity UI (uGUI) & TextMesh Pro' started by Praesidium, Nov 10, 2014.

  1. Praesidium

    Praesidium

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    29
    http://tinyurl.com/pgxz77h

    This is just an example project, all it has is a canvas a panel inside the canvas with a mask and a text inside the panel.

    Since i updated to this last version of unity, this happens, and it only happens on osx webplayers, on windows if you open that link it will work correctly (at least it does here in our tests).

    This is awful since we have a project to deliver this week and obviously this can't be in it.

    I do understand is a beta so this is not a rant, we knew the risks when we decided to use 4.6.

    It's weird that I find that noone reported this yet though.

    Ways to reproduce.

    1-Make a panel with a mask,
    2- put a text inside it.
    3- export to webplayer
    4- open in osx
     
  2. Praesidium

    Praesidium

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    29


    There's the video of the bug
     
  3. Praesidium

    Praesidium

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    29
    Also i found out that it doesn't happen if you're running "Dev" version of webplayer.
     
  4. phil-Unity

    phil-Unity

    Unity UI Lead Developer Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Posts:
    1,153
    any chance you filed a bug? if not please do so.
     
    Praesidium likes this.
  5. Praesidium

    Praesidium

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    29
  6. Praesidium

    Praesidium

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    29
    Please let me know if you can reproduce the bug, we found that one mac in our company it didn't bug when we tested (it bugged in all the others). Its also the only mac with yosemite.
     
  7. phil-Unity

    phil-Unity

    Unity UI Lead Developer Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Posts:
    1,153
    It'll likely be tomorrow by the time i can take a look, bogged down with another issue atm.
     
  8. Praesidium

    Praesidium

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    29
    thank you very much
     
  9. Praesidium

    Praesidium

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    29
    Well, on the end of the day of work, when we already fixed everything about our app and only this issue remains, we decided to give up on the text for a while and go with an image faking the text, and.. it also glitches. So my guess is that is an issue with osx webplayer with masks overall.
     
  10. zenheads

    zenheads

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    It's so strange that this hasn't been fixed for the final 4.6 version... I'm seeing the same thing. I want to display text in a scrollrect (masked), flickers like crazy. Doeesn't flicker in the editor of course, just in the web player. Any chance on a quick fix for this?
     
  11. Praesidium

    Praesidium

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    29
    So I see this wasn't fixed in the release of 4.6, and its not only text but at least also images as i said in the previous reply.

    Can we expect a fix for this for the 4.6.1 coming next week?
     
  12. phil-Unity

    phil-Unity

    Unity UI Lead Developer Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Posts:
    1,153
    i'm having trouble reproducing this issue with the bug that was reported. Could someone give me a more robust project to test against?
     
  13. zenheads

    zenheads

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    Are you trying on a Mac? (not Yosemite!)
     
  14. BonyYousuf

    BonyYousuf

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Posts:
    110
    I am still having this problem with Unity3d 5.0.1f1 version. Any idea on how to fix it?
     
  15. MontanaAnton

    MontanaAnton

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    On some Android devices occurs the same problem with masks


     
  16. ArteyS

    ArteyS

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2014
    Posts:
    16
    I am having the exact same issue. You sure you can't reproduce it? Maybe try another Mac. Unity guys has this been resolved in some way? I really need a fix for this bug. I only need the mask to set the bounds of my clickable UI area. For example a round button should be clickable only in the round shape, even though it comes from a square image with transparency alpha. By default, the whole square becomes clickable.
     
  17. Anathaerine

    Anathaerine

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Posts:
    3
    I can confirm this problem exists as well, one of my users in my game just asked me about it. I was hoping it'd get fixed in Unity 5 but not there yet :(
     
  18. Angmar

    Angmar

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    Still here in 5.3.1!
     
unityunity