Search Unity

Mask a Game Object with another Game Object

Discussion in 'Animation' started by Caustics, Dec 19, 2018.

1. Caustics

Caustics

Hi All,

I've been searching around and can't seem to find a solution to this. I've got a mask effect I need to create that isn't based on depth. I want to "write on" a 3D script logo from left to right like you'd write in a letter.

I'm not a programmer so I'm hoping this can be done via a piece of geometry that's sitting there (the word) and a mask (different geometry) that can be animated on top of or off of the word geometry. Is this possible?

The link above is the effect, but it's got to reveal geometry.

Thanks in advance, Patrick.

2. Caustics

Caustics

Bump. Maybe I'm approaching this wrong? I've got an Image Sequence with Alpha. When I throw one image from the sequence on albedo it works as it should. Can I use the image sequence in some way? Can a sprite sheet have 299 frames?

3. Honestly, I have a really hard time imagining what you want to do. All I see is a text-revealing effect in the after effects with a handwriting font, but how this is related to one game object "masking" another game object in 3D is going above my head.
    I will randomly leave here my favorite text revealing effect in Unity. :)
    http://www.gamasutra.com/blogs/Migu...803/Better_text_reveals_Unity_code_inside.php

Oh, and if you really want to reveal geometry, mesh, then you need to research custom shaders. If you use latest Unity versions, you can utilize the ShaderGraph to "write" your shader (plugin together, really).
    For example you can modify this one:

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 20, 2018
  4. Caustics

Caustics

Hey LurkingNinja,