Search Unity

Question MARS and blendshape?

Discussion in 'Unity MARS' started by xhkong, Nov 19, 2020.

1. xhkong

xhkong

I'm new to MARS.

In MARS, is there a way for me to use similar blendshape model as in original AR Foundation's FaceManager to replace a user's head?

2. jmunozarUTech

jmunozarUTech

Unity Technologies

3. xhkong

xhkong

Thanks for getting back on this. I looked through the thread you mentioned. I'm trying to migrate my AR Foundation project into MARS. In the original project with AR foundation, I'm able to use ARFaceManager to set a face mesh and use blendshape visualizer to replace user face with a 3d model blendshape. Since MARS do not expose neither blendshapes nor facemesh, I'm trying to figure out how to have MARS and ARFoundations/ARFaceManager work side by side? I tried a ARSession object and MARS session object in my scene side by side, but it doesn't work as they seem to conflict each other.

Can you provide some guidance on this?

4. CiaranWills

CiaranWills

Unity Technologies

MARS and ARFoundation should be able to co-exist in the same scene - what sort of issues are you seeing?

MARS does expose the face mesh if the underlying platform provides one, but it will likely involve a bit more scripting than using ARFaceManager; The IMRFace structure contains the mesh as well as the landmarks and expressions.

When you say blendshapes are you talking about blendshapes from ARKit or your own that you are applying to the mesh?

5. xhkong

xhkong

I'm trying to achieve 2 things here. 1. Applying a custom texture to a face mesh and add a custom blendshape face object like animoji. Both I could do through ARFoundation's ARFaceManager, but not available from MARS.

When I add a ARSession object, ARFaceManager to a MARS project, the FaceMesh prefab registered in ARFaceManager won't attached to the user's face in live video.

6. xhkong

xhkong