Search Unity

Marketing : Development is only half the story.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ArnB, Aug 16, 2013.

1. ArnB

ArnB

You develop a great game but then have trouble getting people to play it.

I'm sure this is a situation many of us have seen, after all, most of us are developers not sales and marketing people.

Let me start by putting my experience into perspective. I am still quite new to unity and android (my chosen new platform) but wrote previously in a variety of languages for various platforms. I produced my first "Test" game and it played quite well. I was pleased.

I did some nice graphics to replace the test ones and bingo, I had a game (admittedly small) that I could test the water with. I installed some admob banners to gauge how much I could make.

I uploaded it to google play and ... a handful of installs.
    I thought about what I was doing wrong - I invested a bit of time on making a nice icon .. that was better and it jumped to a thousand, but still showed that it was going to be difficult to earn much.

I got some emails offering marketing services. One of these was a company called LeTang...
    I searched online - found little in the way of user experience with them. I devised a test with help of one of their sales (Jacqueline) we installed two similar games, I would market one and they would market the other. I had a head start as I was working with the copy that was already on google play for 2 weeks.

The deal was this - We split the ad revenue - 60% for me, 40% for them on their version. They would provide translations and new app descriptions etc. (which they did to the exact day they said - good start) and would handle all promotion for their version.

The game was afoot...

Day one:

My installs (from the past 2 weeks) - just over 1000.
    At the end of the day the LeTang version had already reached over 800! (and google reporting numbers are often delayed)

Day two: