Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Mario Style Jumping?

Discussion in '2D' started by AV_Corey, Jan 25, 2016.

1. AV_Corey

AV_Corey

I've looked everywhere and cannot find how to get a Mario style jump mechanic in C#.

By a Mario style jump I mean you can tap the jump key and the player will do a little hop and if you hold it they will perform a higher jump. I'm very new to programming and didn't want to bother you professionals with this probably simple question but this is my last resort.

2. topherbwell

topherbwell

I wrote this for you. It is heavily commented and should explain everything, so as long as you are here to learn it should get you to a good starting point.
    Code (CSharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    2. using System.Collections;
    4. public class NewBehaviourScript : MonoBehaviour
    5. {
    6.     /*these floats are the force you use to jump, the max time you want your jump to be allowed to happen,
    7.      * and a counter to track how long you have been jumping*/
    8.     public float jumpForce;
    9.     public float jumpTime;
    10.     public float jumpTimeCounter;
    11.     /*this bool is to tell us whether you are on the ground or not
    12.      * the layermask lets you select a layer to be ground; you will need to create a layer named ground(or whatever you like) and assign your
    13.      * ground objects to this layer.
    14.      * The stoppedJumping bool lets us track when the player stops jumping.*/
    15.     public bool grounded;
    16.     public LayerMask whatIsGround;
    17.     public bool stoppedJumping;
    19.     /*the public transform is how you will detect whether we are touching the ground.
    20.      * Add an empty game object as a child of your player and position it at your feet, where you touch the ground.