Search Unity

Marble physics scripting

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by CryingRaven, May 22, 2006.

1. CryingRaven

CryingRaven

Hi people

I am new to Unity and trying to make a real simple game that relies almost exclusively on the physics engine and have found that the physics engine is without my understanding.

Please allow me to post my problems and please see if you can help me out.

The game I want to make is almost like the rolling levels on i-Ninja on Xbox (or Sonic 2 on the Genesis) where you are a ball rolling through a track, sometimes at breakneck speeds. Your controll over the PC (player character) is simply left and right force additions for direction changing and forward and backward for speed adjustments. The levels would be something like i-Ninja with various obstacles to overcome except the PC should never be able to actually roll backwards except on a flat surface and the PC should never be able to move up a slope.

The PC is a simple sphere created using Unity. When I place it in the game and place it above the track, it falls down VERY slowly indeed, no matter how much mass it has. To solve this I changed the gravity field to 30. So that is the first problem solved.

:?: The second one is the relationship between force and mass. If I make the force strong enough to actually move the ball at a reasonably fast speed, then the force is so strong that when I hold down the backwards movement key, it goes up the slope for the level. It should not be able to move up the slope at all. The method I use to stop this from happening is to increase the mass, but then the force is not strong enough to move the marble except at crawling speed... What's up? How do I solve this?