Search Unity

Maps In Unity 3D - Share your experience

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by AlanGrant, Mar 7, 2018.

  1. flyingaudio

    flyingaudio

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Posts:
    88
    Is GoMap compatible with 2018.3?
     
  2. dishmop

    dishmop

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    Hi,
    How can I use OSM to generate maps? It says I need an API key and directs me to a website where I can apparently get it - but when I go there there doesn't seem to be any way to get such a key:
    https://openmaptiles.com/hosting/
     
  3. GameDon

    GameDon

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Posts:
    44
    Has anyone else experienced issues when using the standard shader with rendering mode set to fade? When the map loads, anything with that material does not render, I would appreciate any help with this.

    Thanks in advance :)
     
  4. AlanGrant

    AlanGrant

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Posts:
    69
    I use 2018.2 and I think 2018.3 it's ok too!

    Just make a new account and go to the OSM vector tileset "https://cloud.maptiler.com/tiles/v3/" to get your own api key.

    I answered via email to that, but I have no great suggestion about why the standard shader with transparency won't work.. Any ideas?
     
  5. Dark_Swordsman

    Dark_Swordsman

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2018
    Posts:
    27
    Hi, small thing I noticed after deleting the Demo folder: GOMap has a dependency on GOEnvironment from the Demo folder, this feels wrong dependency-wise.

    Edit:
    I noticed that you are using WWW namespace which is known to have many issues and has been deprecated. It would be great if you could replace it by UnityWebRequest.
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2019
  6. anakein

    anakein

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2019
    Posts:
    17
    hello, i am thinking to buy your script for 1 proyect, but i have some questions.
    there is event for near of point?
    can i load places with external database? ( not google or same, only mysql data retrieve)
    work good with bolt?

    thanks.
     
  7. AlanGrant

    AlanGrant

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Posts:
    69
    @Dark_Swordsman I'm gonna replace it soon, don't worry!

    @anakein Hi! With GoMap you can use classic Unity Colliders for proximity events, that's really great because they have really great performances instead of adding scripts and updates to compute proximity with objects.
    There's not a built in support for mysql databases, but there are events that you can use to spawn data from your database, adding your logic and queries.
    I've never tried using bolt, so really I don't know..

    Bye
    Alan!
     
  8. sskenth

    sskenth

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    Hi

    I've recently purchased your map asset, its great. however I am having one issue. I want the map to automatically rotate based on the phones rotation. So it seems like this has already been implemented "Rotate with heading" option on the GoOrbit script. Unfortunately, theres no documentation on it and I get quite a buggy movement with the option on.

    Is there any chance you could tell me how to fix this? I have another camera in the scene, so I've modified the GoOrbit code to find the avatar cam rather than "Main Cam" using a simple GetComponent<Camera>(), everything else is identical.

    I can't seem to get it to work on the demo scenes either, has anyone had success or come across this same issue?

    Please see a video of the issue below.



    I'd appreciate any help.

    Thanks.

    -Sat
     
  9. AlanGrant

    AlanGrant

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Posts:
    69
    IS the right flag to enable.

    Sadly the compass on android devices have known problems in Unity 3D... I can't use other plugins in the base GoMap asset code but you can use them in your project.
    There are many assets that offer a nice and stable gyroscope/compass for android.

    Bye
    Alan
     
  10. sskenth

    sskenth

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    Ah great, thanks for the information Alan. Appreciate the reply.
     
  11. manu3lkc

    manu3lkc

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    I applied this code to control the gyro and its now able to detect the gyrocontroller movement of the devices (both android and iphone) . Just attach it to your Avatar prefab. Disclaimer: I didn't write this, i saw it in a video by N3K en in a youtube tutorial.
    . it stops the jittery behaviour of the compass when you click the compass and tap false to true. gyrocontrollersample.gif
     

    Attached Files:

    AlanGrant and sskenth like this.
  12. manu3lkc

    manu3lkc

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Hi there Alan,

    GODirections query - turn-by-turn navigation instruction/ arrows on a line on a Navmesh

    I am a beginner at programming, so I need a bit of help to set up waypoints for turn-by-turn navigation aspect of your software. I have the GOMaps and GODirections plugin, I am just having difficulty setting it all up especially trying to run the simple demo scene, so that i can learn from the example. I have the google api key (which I have no idea how this relates to it all) and IndoorAtlas and Mapbox accounts all set up. I tried going through the directions documentation but to no avail, hence me emailing you directly.

    To summarize, I need turn-by-turn navigation instruction/ arrows on a line on a navmesh, like this
    indoornav goal. (it should probably be a soundfile attached to the GO/ sprites that are on this red line, saying "straight, straight,, straight, left turn ahead, left turn etc.")

    Pic 1

    How can I achieve this? I have two ideas on how this could work... [I would prefer to use the A* pathfinding projects' Navmesh (By Aron Grandberg) however unity's built in navmesh is also an option]

    I see on the GOmap script there is this

    Pic 2

    Which has me thinking this could be how i can achieve it but I dont know how to link it to a Navmesh in my project. 0

    The A* pathfinding project plugin draws the line on the navmesh (draw gizmos red/green line) all i would need to know how to do is instantiate waypoint arrow prefabs at intervals but I have no clue how to do this.

    Pic 3/4

    Your help in achieving this goal will be MUCH appreciated as its for my masters thesis, I hope you understand my desired outcome, apologies for a very confusingly written email.

    Regards,
    Kayla Manuel
     

    Attached Files:

  13. sskenth

    sskenth

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Posts:
    33
    Thanks so much for the information, I'll take a closer look and see if I can make those adjustments
     
  14. tvle83

    tvle83

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Posts:
    15
    I am curious where the list of Kind is obtained from when adding a Rendering Option ?

    There are just some really specific and obscure items in the list and one I wanted but couldn't find that I cannot remember at the moment.

    Thank you
     
  15. gringofxs

    gringofxs

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Posts:
    240
    Works on IOS and Android?
     
  16. SolaKK

    SolaKK

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Hi guys,

    A few days ago finally we managed to release an interactive JRPG like Tokyo guide app [Pocket Tokyo] with the help of Alan's asset on the App Store (Android coming soon)!

    Check it out!

    https://apps.apple.com/app/pocket-tokyo/id1459972085?ls=1

    Actually with the Go Map asset you can do pretty amazing things especially if you want to make realistic looking big cities. Our main goal was to move away from the typical Pokemon Go looking simple, flat maps and create something a bit more realistic or "spectacular" if I can say. With a bit of tweaking and design this asset is absolutely capable of doing that and can help a lot to make the whole development faster.

    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuvc3DFhJNqJTW0o8ggAOFg/featured

    zoo.png tower.png
     

    Attached Files:

    AlanGrant likes this.
  17. Holocene

    Holocene

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Posts:
    344
    Very interested in your product, but have a question. Do you have a solution for placing POI’s at runtime without entering pre-defined GPS coordinates? For example, I’d like to instantiate an object on the game map, in an arbitrary location, and make it persist by saving gps positional data. The goal is to enable the user to leave annotations that persist / save wherever they drag and drop them.

    Appreciate any info.
     
  18. AlanGrant

    AlanGrant

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Posts:
    69
    Hi people,

    Here's my consideration about the new Wizards Unite Niantic game, I'managed to remake the map style using GoMap with very few edits.

    I downloaded the game two days ago and the first thing I've noticed is that Niantic didn't push the map experience so far from the one in Pokemon GO. Basically the same look and feel with textures changed and some (very) small procedural generation edits.
    In fact I managed to remake the map style using my asset GoMap in about one day of work, and it took this much only because I'm a complete noob in fact of textures and shaders.

    Here's some pictures:
    (Original) probably using Google Maps and OSM api.


    (Remake) using mapbox API and GoMap SDK



    The most challenging part was to add outline to the building meshes, and that's the only part you won't find in the current commercial version of GoMap. Also it's basically the only one change from the Pokemon GO map! Anyway it wasn't that hard to add a submesh to the building mesh with the outline shape.

    Then it was just a work of textures and lighting.

    I've made textures (from scratch) using this online tool for:
    • Ground
    • Grass
    • Buildings top
    • Buildings outline
    • Roads
    • Roads outline
    • Water
    • sky
    I also made a simple projector to add the windrose under the character and the little compass in the top right corner of the screen.

    I think the only part I haven't remake finely it's the skybox/fog system. The texture I've made is terrible and the sky is a cylinder with an "inside visible" shader to add the clouds. I toggled the fog values for an hour without arriving to nothing close to the Niantic version. If some of you have better ideas let me know =)

    Here's a video of this map style in the city of San Francisco.
     
  19. AlanGrant

    AlanGrant

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Posts:
    69
    Yes!

    The list was first published on the old Mapzen website, then edited by me to support Mapbox and OSM.
    There are in fact some weird feature kinds, but if you take a look at any map most of them is rendered as generic landuse.
     
  20. _OK_

    _OK_

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    Posts:
    33
    any help on using altitude to place objects? I have a character and everything works find if no elevation however when I use elevation I don't seem able to set the character on top of geometry - is there already a way to do this or do I need to write something myself? thanks
     
  21. _OK_

    _OK_

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    Posts:
    33
    its fine - I found the altitude to point method works fine with a little adaption
     
  22. _OK_

    _OK_

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    Posts:
    33
    is there a batching method or distance culling system? particularly for buildings. At the moment there's 1000's of Draw calls when buildings are enabled which is a problem for mobile
     
  23. Nappoleo

    Nappoleo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I noticed a couple of curious things/bugs(?) in the use of features in GOMap. Since my project uses these features in the programming logic, not only for rendering in a map I'd need to know if these things are by design or something that can be fixed in future GOMap-releases.
    First out is water. I've noticed that as soon as the map displays a tile with any kind of water in it, the related features in the hierarchy are just empty (see the attached image). This has no practical effect for the map rendering since water is just, well water. Blue.
    But I'd need to be able, as far as possible, to discern water from water. Take the following position for example: 56.154513, 14.744536. The water on the right is a river, the water on the left is a lake. In addition to those two kinds, a shoreline of some kind would be very good (ie the water on the map is the sea).
    At the moment however I can't make out what kind of water is on the map due to the empty objects. Are these by design or due to a bug somewhere?
    My other issue are all of the accountants in GoMap :).
    It seems as if the attribute Poi Kind isn't updated at the moment, thus giving the everpresent result "Accountant" (as in the attached image). The practical result is that the property isn't very useful at the moment. For example in the following location 59.898217, 17.630064 one finds the feature Cemetery. However since this site arguably is Swedens most well-known archeological site I could expect a PoiKind of Archeological_site (it's not just any cemetery) instead of Accountant...
    Again this affects my project where I'd like to use this type of map-information for various decisions. Something that can be fixed?
    And btw, I submitted a question on QueryRenderedFeatures via the webform a while ago - you can ignore that. It's obsolete by now :).
    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  24. Jean_light

    Jean_light

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Dear @AlanGrant

    Due to GPS precision, the position can jump around a lot, making object jump round in the scene.
    We want to use movement smoothing to mitigate the effects of this.
    Do you have any scripts for movement smoothing, please?
     
  25. Reiter96

    Reiter96

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    hey I'm kinda getting a problem in godropfeature does anyone know what is the code for the triggering of the sphere??. like for example when i walk into that sphere using godropfeature how will it trigger into game play which is in AR. I have done that in a 3dcube using box collider, but the problem is that cube is not in a designated coordinates, thats why, i wanted to know how does the godropfeature works when hitting that red sphere and how do you make it disappear after the game play??. please help thanks.. and how did you do that items or icons in the screen when you did the wizards unite gameplay in the picture?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 6, 2019
  26. Reiter96

    Reiter96

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2018
    Posts:
    2

    That's awesome!! how do you that?. thats what i'm about to do lol. I'm stuck in the basics on how to trigger the redsphere to work.. and how do you change those things to icons or any objects like burger shop etc?..
     
  27. artfabrik

    artfabrik

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Hey,
    I'm currently evaluating a few features of GO map.
    As far as I see, there isn't support currently for switching the zoom level on the fly (i.e. LOD, which is essential when using a slippy map).
    Is there support for this planned in the future?
     
  28. Dark_Swordsman

    Dark_Swordsman

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2018
    Posts:
    27
    Hi Alan, I like the Wizards Unity map style. Are you going to share the changes for the building outline? In the current version the building outline material slot is greyed out.

    Also I am still hoping for the requests I made a few months ago (Core code dependency on demo folder, usage of deprecated www class)
     
  29. techartsmsm

    techartsmsm

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Posts:
    22
    @AlanGrant 1) Can I use the Vectors from Mapbox and what is the pricing structure for that? 2) If I want to display the vectorized, 3d map in a google maps ar navigation style circle at the bottom of the screen - what would be the best way to do that?
     
  30. Dark_Swordsman

    Dark_Swordsman

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2018
    Posts:
    27
    Hi Alan, in addition to my previous post I also receive this error when walking around in editor on the marauders map with Mapbox.

    [Warning] [GOMAP] error catched in feature: major_rail, tunnel, System.Collections.Generic.List`1[UnityEngine.Vector3], System.ArgumentOutOfRangeException: Index was out of range. Must be non-negative and less than the size of the collection.
    Parameter name: index
    at System.ThrowHelper.ThrowArgumentOutOfRangeException (System.ExceptionArgument argument, System.ExceptionResource resource) [0x00029] in <df7127ba07dc446d9f5831a0ec7b1d63>:0
    at System.ThrowHelper.ThrowArgumentOutOfRangeException () [0x00000] in <df7127ba07dc446d9f5831a0ec7b1d63>:0
    at System.Collections.Generic.List`1[T].get_Item (System.Int32 index) [0x00009] in <df7127ba07dc446d9f5831a0ec7b1d63>:0
    at GOCurver.MakeBetterCurve (System.Collections.Generic.List`1[T] points, System.Int32 resolution, System.Boolean loop) [0x00100] in C:\Users\Sascha\Documents\Workspace\Projects\SHAR\Source\SHARGame\Assets\Plugins\GO Map - 3D Map For AR Gaming\Core\Map Builders\GOCurver.cs:96
    at GoMap.GOLineMesh..ctor (GoMap.GOFeature goFeature_, System.Boolean curved) [0x000b1] in C:\Users\Sascha\Documents\Workspace\Projects\SHAR\Source\SHARGame\Assets\Plugins\GO Map - 3D Map For AR Gaming\Core\Map Builders\GOLineMesh.cs:44
    at GoMap.GOFeatureMeshBuilder.PreloadLine (GoMap.GOFeature feature) [0x00045] in C:\Users\Sascha\Documents\Workspace\Projects\SHAR\Source\SHARGame\Assets\Plugins\GO Map - 3D Map For AR Gaming\Core\Map Builders\GOFeatureMeshBuilder.cs:320
    at GoMap.GOFeatureMeshBuilder.PreloadFeatureData (GoMap.GOFeature feature) [0x00086] in C:\Users\Sascha\Documents\Workspace\Projects\SHAR\Source\SHARGame\Assets\Plugins\GO Map - 3D Map For AR Gaming\Core\Map Builders\GOFeatureMeshBuilder.cs:210
    GOFeatureMeshBuilder.PreloadFeatureData() Assets/Plugins/GO Map - 3D Map For AR Gaming/Core/Map Builders/GOFeatureMeshBuilder.cs:215
    213: }
    214: } catch (Exception ex) {
    -->215: Debug.LogWarning ("[GOMAP] error catched in feature: "+feature.name+", "+feature.kind + ", "+feature.convertedGeometry + ", " +ex);
    216: return null;
    217: }

    GOPbfProcedure.AddFatureToList() Assets/Plugins/GO Map - 3D Map For AR Gaming/Core/Map Builders/GOMapObjects/GOPbfProcedure.cs:94
    92: private void AddFatureToList(GOFeature f, IList list) {
    -->94: f.preloadedMeshData = GOFeatureMeshBuilder.PreloadFeatureData (f);
    95: if (f.goFeatureType == GOFeatureType.Point || f.goFeatureType == GOFeatureType.Label ||f.preloadedMeshData != null)
    96: list.Add (f);

    GOPbfProcedure.ParseGOLayerToList() Assets/Plugins/GO Map - 3D Map For AR Gaming/Core/Map Builders/GOMapObjects/GOPbfProcedure.cs:174
    172: gfm.geometry = geometry;
    173: gfm.ConvertGeometries();
    -->174: AddFatureToList(gfm,pl.goFeatures);
    175: }
    176: break;

    GOPbfProcedure.ThreadFunction() Assets/Plugins/GO Map - 3D Map For AR Gaming/Core/Map Builders/GOMapObjects/GOPbfProcedure.cs:71
    69: if (layer.disabled)
    70: continue;
    -->71: ParseGOLayerToList (list, vt, layer);
    72: }

    ThreadedJob.Run() Assets/Plugins/GO Map - 3D Map For AR Gaming/GOShared/Helpers/Threading/ThreadedJob.cs:75
    73: private void Run()
    74: {
    -->75: ThreadFunction();
    76: IsDone = true;
    77: }

    ThreadHelper.ThreadStart()