Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

Map Lab - PBR Texture Laboratory

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Sycoforge, Nov 5, 2015.

  1. Sycoforge

    Sycoforge

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    745
    At last: You can download Map Lab. :)
     
    GCatz, Teila and S_Darkwell like this.
  2. S_Darkwell

    S_Darkwell

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Posts:
    320
    @nu-assets: Thank you! Looking forward to testing it out!
     
  3. Sycoforge

    Sycoforge

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    745
    For all those who didn't get a copy today, tomorrow we release the next half...
    Thanks for participating!
     
  4. MS80

    MS80

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2014
    Posts:
    346
    I checked the site 1 hour ago, there was no shop at all, now it seems there are no copies left :(
    Anyone here had luck and received a copy??
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2015
  5. S_Darkwell

    S_Darkwell

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Posts:
    320
  6. mensch-mueller

    mensch-mueller

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2014
    Posts:
    156
    Hi
    I´m on OSX 10.8 Mavericks and it doesn´t seemed to work at all :(:

    Lots of errors:
    System.Reflection.TargetInvocationException: Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation..........
    &
    Map Lab: OpenCL could not be initialized. OpenCL is either not natively supported by your hardware or some drivers are missing......

    I`m on a MacBook Pro 15`with a NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M, Unity 5.2.3f1, fresh project

    Will send you the full list of errors.
    Cheers
    Michael
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2015
  7. Teila

    Teila

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Posts:
    6,880
    I got one!
     
  8. MS80

    MS80

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2014
    Posts:
    346
    Ah ok, thanks! Seems I was just too late!
    Any future pricing information??
     
  9. S_Darkwell

    S_Darkwell

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Posts:
    320
    No errors here, but I am unable to get the preview to display anything but black.

    Unity v5.3.0f1
    Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980
    AMD FX-9370 Eight Core Processor

    - S.
     
  10. Sycoforge

    Sycoforge

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    745
    There's an identified issue with the custom material workflow. Does that happen with the standard metallic and specular workflow too?
     
  11. Sycoforge

    Sycoforge

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    745
    That usually happens when the OpenCL drivers are missing. Does the plug-in window show up?
     
  12. KnifeMedia

    KnifeMedia

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Posts:
    108
    I received an email with no attachment :D Can I get one?

    Replied to support a few mins ago.
     
  13. Sycoforge

    Sycoforge

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    745
    While in beta we sell Map Lab for 50$. But before buying: try to get a copy today. :)
     
  14. mensch-mueller

    mensch-mueller

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2014
    Posts:
    156
    In System Profiler OpenCl 2.3.59 is installed.
    Window appeared, but i can´t assign a texture. preview stayed the same.

    but it´s perhaps related to crappy OpenCL on OSX
    http://preta3d.com/os-x-users-unite/
    Since the company is leaded by this Cook, everything changed to the negative :confused:


    Cheers
    Michael
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2015
  15. Sycoforge

    Sycoforge

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    745
    Do you see the map output (see image below)

    map_output.jpg

    Does the CPU rendering work?
     
  16. mensch-mueller

    mensch-mueller

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2014
    Posts:
    156
    No output, but it seemed it hand´t taken input.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. S_Darkwell

    S_Darkwell

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Posts:
    320
    @nu-assets:

    After trying various modes:

    Unity.exe -force-opengl:
    Works! Able to view individual maps and 3D preview.

    Unity.exe -force-glcore (loads under OpenGL 4.5):
    Able to view individual maps. No 3D preview.

    Unity.exe -force-d3d9:
    Nothing.


    Unity.exe -force-d3d11:
    Nothing.

    Additionally, changing Threading Chunksize and Acceleration appears to have no affect.
     
  18. S_Darkwell

    S_Darkwell

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Posts:
    320
    @nu-assets:

    Some additional issues I've stumbled upon:
    • Enabling / disabling skybox in the preview appears to have no affect. The default skybox remains, which appears to be quite dark with blacks and deep reddish-oranges.
    • Deleting various maps from each tab does not actually remove them from the final export.
    • The export window's default size was quite small. It took me a couple of minutes to realize that it needed to be resized to view the "Filename" field and "Export" and "Cancel" buttons.
    • Unity's project tab doesn't refresh after export, requiring one to refresh it manually.
    • When attempting to export with "Create Material" checked, I receive the following errors:
      Couldn't create asset file!
      UnityEditor.AssetDatabase:CreateAsset(Object, String)
      ch.sycoforge.MapLab.Editor.ExporterWindow:CreateMaterial(Object)
      ch.sycoforge.Unity.Editor.AsyncJob:Run()
      ch.sycoforge.Unity.Editor.AsyncWorker.Process ()
      ch.sycoforge.Unity.Editor.EditorWindowExtension:EditorUpdate()
      ch.sycoforge.MapLab.Editor.MapLabEditor:EditorUpdate()
      UnityEditor.EditorApplication:Internal_CallUpdateFunctions()

      UnityException: Creating asset at path C:/Users/Darkwell/Documents/Unity/DS_Platformer/Assets/_Game/Materials/tbricks.mat failed.
      ch.sycoforge.MapLab.Editor.ExporterWindow.CreateMaterial (System.Object obj)
      ch.sycoforge.Unity.Editor.AsyncJob.Run ()
      ch.sycoforge.Unity.Editor.AsyncWorker.Process ()
      ch.sycoforge.Unity.Editor.EditorWindowExtension.EditorUpdate ()
      ch.sycoforge.MapLab.Editor.MapLabEditor.EditorUpdate ()
      UnityEditor.EditorApplication.Internal_CallUpdateFunctions () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/artifacts/generated/common/editor/EditorApplicationBindings.gen.cs:227)
    • I received the following error when opening MapLab using -force-d3d9:
      ch.sycoforge.MapLab.Editor.SelectInputMenu must be instantiated using the ScriptableObject.CreateInstance method instead of new SelectInputMenu.
      UnityEditor.EditorWindow:.ctor()
      ch.sycoforge.MapLab.Editor.SelectInputMenu:.ctor()
      ch.sycoforge.MapLab.Editor.SelectInputMenu:ShowMenu(LayerGroup, EditorWindow, Rect)
      ch.sycoforge.MapLab.Editor.MapLabEditor:DrawGroup(LayerGroup)
      ch.sycoforge.MapLab.Editor.MapLabEditor:OnGUI()
      UnityEditor.DockArea:OnGUI()
    I hope this information will be of assistance!

    With that said, under OpenGL 2.1 (-force-opengl), I was able to export the maps and manually assign them to a texture.

    The potential for this asset is awesome, and I'm looking forward to seeing its development!
    - S.
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2015
  19. Sycoforge

    Sycoforge

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    745
    There's an issue with Unity Personal Edition. The input image preview doesn't get displayed.
    Successfully reproduced (case AD41Z35J65).

    You can work with this input channel, even though you haven't a preview.

    Update: Have you set the Source to the input channel?

    Thanks @mensch.mueller
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2015
  20. Sycoforge

    Sycoforge

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    745
    Successfully reproduced (case AZZ5G6XLIU).

    Successfully reproduced (case ANTU8IOIFP).

    You can only export materials when the path is relative to your project's folder.

    That should be a warning (not an error), classified as possible Unity bug.

    Thanks @S_Darkwell
     
  21. S_Darkwell

    S_Darkwell

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Posts:
    320
    @nu-assets
    "C:/Users/Darkwell/Documents/Unity/DS_Platformer" is my project folder, so shouldn't the path "C:/Users/Darkwell/Documents/Unity/DS_Platformer/Assets/_Game/Materials/tbricks.mat" suffice?

    If not, could you give an example?

    Apologies. You are correct. It was a warning, not an error.

    Thank you!
    - S.
     
  22. Sycoforge

    Sycoforge

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    745
    Assets/_Game/Materials

    The relative path check is currently somewhat simple. The warning messages will be improved in future versions. :)
     
  23. S_Darkwell

    S_Darkwell

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Posts:
    320
    Ahh. Yes, that worked. Thank you!

    Perhaps force the path to be relative to the project by default? A "Relative to project folder" checkbox that can be unchecked to allow the asset to be saved elsewhere, but this could also visibly disable the "Create Material" checkbox?

    - S.
     
  24. Sycoforge

    Sycoforge

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    745
    That would be indeed a good option. It's on the to-do-list.
     
    S_Darkwell likes this.
  25. mensch-mueller

    mensch-mueller

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2014
    Posts:
    156
    After setting to input source, it´s working in the 3D viewport. (But not showing the texture in input) :)

    And Normal to Height seemed not to work for me(OpenCl only)

    A feature suggestion:
    It would be great, if we can activate the channels on top, on the different tabs, with some an indicator if its on, or off.
    This way hide the channels we don´t want to show in the 3D viewport.
    And Presets for different use cases, it would be great to have also presets for channel generation.

    Cheers
    Michael

    Edit: When i choose StandardMapLab Material its pink, and Relief is only white. And Map preview window doesn´t update. And one side of rotating cube is upside-down.
    And finally: It doesn´t export anything...
    But i think, that is why there is a beta ;)
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2015
    S_Darkwell likes this.
  26. Sycoforge

    Sycoforge

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    745
    It's also on the to-do-list. :)
     
  27. iamsam

    iamsam

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013
    Posts:
    233
    @nu-assets Are all the beta copies given away or will you be doing another round soon?

    This looks like a good in-editor solution. We have been working with Bitmap2Material and Substance Designer in our pipeline. Can you please briefly mention how Map Lab is different/similar to these solutions. I really love the preview window of the material applied to the object, this is a must and I believe it helps boost your asset from the other ones.

    If we purchase the beta version from the store, how are the updates distributed, through the website? I am assuming that the updates are simultaneously released to your web customers when they are sent to the asset store.

    Thanks,
    Sam
     
  28. Sycoforge

    Sycoforge

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    745
    Part two starts in ~15 minutes.
    We publish a coupon code on the top-most post and via social networks. Make sure you have already signed up to speed up the download process.
     
  29. iamsam

    iamsam

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013
    Posts:
    233
    Thanks for the heads up. We are still discussing and will probably end up purchasing it as it seems like a good solution and we would like to support future updates :).
     
  30. S_Darkwell

    S_Darkwell

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Posts:
    320
    @nu-assets:

    When I had downloaded the asset from the website, there was never a coupon code.

    In place of the "Buy" link, there was simply a download link.

    Now that I look, it doesn't appear that I have another way to download it without purchasing it.

    How would I download updates (and eventually the final version) at this point?
    - S.
     
  31. Sycoforge

    Sycoforge

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    745
    The versions on the website are usually available 1-2 weeks earlier, as the reviewing process can be quiet lingering. :)
     
    S_Darkwell likes this.
  32. S_Darkwell

    S_Darkwell

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Posts:
    320
    @nu-assets:

    I just checked the website, and the download link appears to be back. I'm not certain whether this is because you are allowing additional users to download it, or if the issues was fixed?

    Additionally, when the asset is actually released to the asset store, will there be a way to download from there? It's far more convenient being notified via the asset store of updates versus checking dozens of individual websites.
    - S.
     
  33. Sycoforge

    Sycoforge

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    745
    We had some technical difficulties with the online shop yesterday. :(
    So we had to publish a free download link to keep the promised release date. The current code allows 60 downloads, so yesterdays customers (and 35 new ones) can add it to their accounts.
     
  34. salad__fingers

    salad__fingers

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Posts:
    42
    RIP. Webpage not available. Both yesterday and today. I have no chance to get it

    EDIT:
    Got a coupon code. Still can't load the website.
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2015
  35. Sycoforge

    Sycoforge

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    745
    On the top-most post. Just updated. :)
     
    montyfi likes this.
  36. ImpossibleRobert

    ImpossibleRobert

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    Posts:
    472
    Where Can I find the codes? I would really like to test as well and am super excited about this.

    Edit: overlapping post, found it in initial post :) great give-away, thanks a lot!
     
  37. montyfi

    montyfi

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Posts:
    548
    Got one, thank you! Will test it later today.
     
  38. Sycoforge

    Sycoforge

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    745
    Twitter, Facebook and in the initial post.
     
  39. iamsam

    iamsam

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013
    Posts:
    233
    Thanks! Was able to get one. I will test it out and compare it with B2M and SP and post my results soon.

    Thanks again:).
     
    ImpossibleRobert likes this.
  40. S_Darkwell

    S_Darkwell

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Posts:
    320
    Try a different browser?
     
  41. salad__fingers

    salad__fingers

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Posts:
    42
    How come everyone is able to connect and redeem this? I can't even load the website (see my prior post)
    Trying everything.
    It's as if my IP was blocked from the website.
     
  42. salad__fingers

    salad__fingers

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Posts:
    42
    I have. I've tried all of my browsers and every device in my household (that can load webpages).
    All produce the same error.
     
  43. Ysgramor

    Ysgramor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Posts:
    69
    really thanks i got a copy :)
     
  44. S_Darkwell

    S_Darkwell

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Posts:
    320
  45. Sycoforge

    Sycoforge

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    745
    Our brute force black list contains two entries. So unless you weren't one of the brute forcers, you shouldn't be blocked. ;)
     
  46. cygnusprojects

    cygnusprojects

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Posts:
    744
    Thank you for the copy :)
     
  47. salad__fingers

    salad__fingers

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Posts:
    42
    I haven't been brute forcing, but I've definitely been F5'ing a lot to make sure I could get in as early as possible due to my slow internet speed.
     
    S_Darkwell likes this.
  48. Ysgramor

    Ysgramor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Posts:
    69
    how to download the asset? not up yet?

    EDIT:
    Nvm found it :)
     
  49. Sycoforge

    Sycoforge

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Posts:
    745
    But keep in mind that Map Lab is still in its beta phase. :)
     
  50. Ysgramor

    Ysgramor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Posts:
    69
    hi, when im assign input texture, dont show in preview window
    here is the error message:
    DllNotFoundException: Assets/nu Assets/Shared/Scripts/sycoforge_imaging.dll
    ch.sycoforge.Imaging.BitmapBase.AllocateMemory (ch.sycoforge.Imaging.SequentialColor[] data, Int32 width, Int32 height)
    ch.sycoforge.Imaging.BitmapBase..ctor (ch.sycoforge.Imaging.SequentialColor[] pixels, Int32 width, Int32 height)
    ch.sycoforge.Imaging.Unity.UnityBitmap..ctor (UnityEngine.Texture2D texture)
    ch.sycoforge.MapLab.Editor.MapLabEditor.RefreshMapInputs (System.Collections.Generic.List`1 inputs)
    ch.sycoforge.MapLab.Editor.MapLabEditor.DrawInput ()
    ch.sycoforge.MapLab.Editor.MapLabEditor.OnGUI ()
    System.Reflection.MonoMethod.Invoke (System.Object obj, BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Object[] parameters, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/mono-runtime-and-classlibs/build/mcs/class/corlib/System.Reflection/MonoMethod.cs:222)
    UnityEditor.HostView:OnGUI()

    and also i cant delete empty input slot after above error happen ( before that, no error)
    heres the error message:
    Bitmap - Trying to deallocate null pointer

    EDIT: it seems all input slot (empty or not) cant deleted after first error happen