Search Unity

Map-ity Open Street Map data for Unity - Official

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by RewindGameStudio, Oct 21, 2013.

  1. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,163
    You should change the URL for openstreet API service in Map-ity setting
    Try this http://api.openstreetmap.fr/api/ . I do not remember, but on openstreemap web you can find all the active api URL
     
    HermieW likes this.
  2. HermieW

    HermieW

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    Unfortunately this doesn't work either.
     
    antoripa likes this.
  3. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,163
    below works
    upload_2016-11-21_12-57-40.png
     
    HermieW likes this.
  4. HermieW

    HermieW

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    You're amazing, thanks!
     
    antoripa likes this.
  5. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,163
    No prob .. if you need further just post here or send me a PM. I do not understand what is the status of the project becuase I do not see support from the vendor .. so maybe we can help each other share experience.
     
    RewindGameStudio and HermieW like this.
  6. HermieW

    HermieW

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    Do you also get the following error when you activate the option "Waterways"?
     
  7. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,163
    I have never used Waterways .. I will check it out tomorrow
     
  8. orvedal

    orvedal

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Posts:
    47
    Looking into this for you, but I don't get that error...
     
    HermieW likes this.
  9. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,163
    Hi,
    How can I save data? all options are flagged ( save/load) but file is not created.
     
  10. orvedal

    orvedal

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Posts:
    47
    Hi,
    create this script and attach it to any game object:
    Code (csharp):
    1.  
    2. using UnityEngine;
    3. using System.Collections;
    4.  
    5. public class persipath : MonoBehaviour
    6. {
    7.  
    8.     // Use this for initialization
    9.     void Start()
    10.     {
    11.         Debug.Log(Application.persistentDataPath);
    12.     }
    13. }
    14.  
    The path that it spits out when you hit play is the path to your map.
     
    HermieW likes this.
  11. Kybernesis

    Kybernesis

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Posts:
    27
    Is the developer missing in action? Anyway, anyone know how I can rotate the dataset to fit with terrains with a different rotation than it spews out by default? Cause with the terrain I work on now I'm not allowed to rotate the terrain by the project owners.
     
  12. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,163
    Just apply same Vector rotation to every points post creations .. those are stored in the singletone Mapity class
     
  13. orvedal

    orvedal

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Posts:
    47
    I've had success contacting them through their listed support contact.
     
  14. RewindGameStudio

    RewindGameStudio

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Posts:
    194
    Hi, Sorry for the delayed response, forum notifications seemed to have stopped so the emails were not forwarded to us.

    Zoom level controls the size of the area.
     
  15. RewindGameStudio

    RewindGameStudio

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Posts:
    194
    Hi, Sorry for the delayed response, forum notifications seemed to have stopped so the emails were not forwarded to us.

    We're not deprecated, but given other project commitments updates are currently developed at a slower pace.
     
    antoripa likes this.
  16. RewindGameStudio

    RewindGameStudio

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Posts:
    194
    Just want to say thank you to each of you helping each other out. Once again I can only apologise for the delayed responses. While posting on the forum serves as a great resource for others notifications to us do not always work. However if you send an email to our support address I will personally get a notification on my phone and will try my best to give a speedy response.

    Further to that I plan to start another update which will take advantage of Unity's new liner renderer to put together a nice sample map.
     
  17. RewindGameStudio

    RewindGameStudio

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Posts:
    194
    We can look into adding rotation support.
     
  18. Kybernesis

    Kybernesis

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Posts:
    27
    I have tried applying the rotation to a few different places, but haven't found where I actually need to apply them :p Do you have any more specifics about where I should apply the rotation?

    That would be awesome!
     
  19. RewindGameStudio

    RewindGameStudio

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Posts:
    194
    WIP shot of the new map sample using the new Unity 5.5 line renderers.

    upload_2016-12-18_21-21-6.png
     
  20. INSLN

    INSLN

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    Hello, I've recently have purchased your product yet am unable to change the coordinates for the longitude and latitude setting within the Mapity script, every time when I try to change location how do you fix it?
     
  21. RewindGameStudio

    RewindGameStudio

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Posts:
    194
    Are you setting it in the inspector or through code?
     
  22. davaguco

    davaguco

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Posts:
    20
    I would like to receive a copy: davaguco@gmail.com
     
  23. RewindGameStudio

    RewindGameStudio

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Posts:
    194
    It's now provided with the mapity package.
     
  24. davaguco

    davaguco

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Posts:
    20
    Thanks, I found it.
     
  25. davaguco

    davaguco

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Posts:
    20
    Im creating a Project that creates a real world terrain with heights and satellite textures, then uses mapity runtime BuildR example to create buildings on the terrain. It seems to be working fine, this is Barcelona (Spain) built from player inputs, on runtime:

    upload_2017-3-17_9-54-43.png

    However, I have a slight problem: as Mapity starts as soon as the scene is loaded, but the terrain is still being generated (it takes around 30-90 seconds, depending on resolution), even though I check the stick to terrain option, the buildings start getting built at 0 height. I fixed a part of this problem with a slight change to BuildingRuntimeScript, it now gets the buildings at the correct height (or close enough), but it would only work well if mapity only started AFTER terrain generation. How do I get mapity inactive and set it active after all terrain has been created? Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  26. hopeful

    hopeful

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Posts:
    5,682
    Whatever happened with this? Anything?
     
  27. davaguco

    davaguco

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Posts:
    20
    Good luck getting an answer.
     
  28. RewindGameStudio

    RewindGameStudio

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Posts:
    194
    If you uncheck autoLoad and call the Load method when your terrain is finished loading you should solve your problem.
     
    davaguco likes this.
  29. RewindGameStudio

    RewindGameStudio

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Posts:
    194
    It's beyond me why this always stops working but email notifications for this thread have once again stopped. As I've mentioned before a direct email to support is your best option.
     
  30. Carl0

    Carl0

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    When I'm creating the buildings using the example script, with BuildR, all of the buildings are just massive skyscrapers.

    Is Mapity not aware of the height of buildings? Or is there a way to fix this?

    Thank you.
     
  31. Noa3

    Noa3

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Posts:
    84
    can anyone give me pls links to working apis?

    i have trouble to get them from the wiki workinng
     
  32. Noa3

    Noa3

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Posts:
    84
    which buildr are you using? you need to create a prefab what mapity can use and varite it
     
  33. udi9112

    udi9112

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    I just purchased Mapity, do you have any code samples which we can refer to ?
     
  34. RabidBat

    RabidBat

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Posts:
    15
    You could always, you know, take 5 minutes to check the forums every day. You're selling a product for $30 a pop after all.
    Maybe even take 5 minutes and add a support forum to your own site.

    I was considering buying Map-ity. But am going to pass for now if those profiting from it find managing a forum so difficult and I cannot be sure the product will even work as advertised.
    Doesn't appear to have been updated since 2016.......
     
  35. wmaass88

    wmaass88

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Posts:
    45
    Recently purchased Mapity. I noticed Road Architect mentioned a few times, in case anyone does not know you can get it below. I did manage to get Mapity and Road Architect working together but I am not sure how useful it is really. There is a lot of cleanup to do once the roads are generated. If anyone needs tips on how I got that working I'd be happy to provide info. I could not get World Composer working with Mapity however, the option does not appear in the Mapity inspector.

    https://github.com/MicroGSD/RoadArchitect
     
  36. RabidBat

    RabidBat

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Posts:
    15
    Thanks for the info. I use WorldComposer, TerrainComposer and EasyRoads3D so I really need a system that works with those and with a minimal amount of effort.
     
  37. OLGV

    OLGV

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Posts:
    57
    Quick question @RewindGameStudio, does map-ity work with BuildR2 as well?
    Cheers
     
  38. recon0303

    recon0303

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Posts:
    1,634
    I wonder if this will ever be updated, 2 years since we seen an update.. anyone know? Thanks.
     
  39. Mad_Mark

    Mad_Mark

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Posts:
    484
    @wmaass88 I would REALLY appreciate a tutorial on mapity - road architect integration. I don't mind the cleanup work, just need a starting point.
     
  40. wmaass88

    wmaass88

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Posts:
    45
    I'll dig up the project and look at it again and post here anything useful for you.
     
  41. TASIHMI

    TASIHMI

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2021
    Posts:
    4
    Hi, the given user manual can't be reached. Can you provide me the manual?