Search Unity

Making unlockable systems

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by MrZeker, Jul 31, 2019.

1. MrZeker

MrZeker

Hello everyone, im trying to build a shop unlock system for additional costumes in my game. I need some suggestions on how to best implement it:
    I already have a binary formatting save system, but my question, since there is like 200s items.
    Should i just use one bool for each item? and have like 200 booleans?
    or is there a better way? if so, can you show me a little of code of that idea?
    im still kinda new to c#.

2. WallaceT_MFM

WallaceT_MFM

If every item has the potential to be locked or unlocked, I'd make that a bool field in the item. So, each item knows if it is locked or not, and the store asks the item if it is locked when displaying it.

MrZeker likes this.
  3. palex-nx

palex-nx

What if player have multiple saved games and unlocked different items?

MrZeker likes this.
  4. WallaceT_MFM

WallaceT_MFM

I assume that the save system would serialize the changes from default.

MrZeker likes this.
  5. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

What do players do to unlock these items?

For example, in my game learning skills is the primary way of unlocking items which can be purchased in the in game market, and skill progress occurs continually even when the game isn't running. So when checking if a player has unlocked the ability to use an item, I recalculate their progress on the relevant skills. What I save is just their current progress on skills, not whether they have unlocked any items.

If you went with saving 200 bools, you'd probably just have an array or list of bools you save instead of 200 individual bools. Code would be much simpler.

MrZeker likes this.
  6. ADNCG

ADNCG

Stupid simple way is to give your items a unique identifier and add unlocked items to a list. Then just check against the list to see what items have been unlocked.

MrZeker, palex-nx and Joe-Censored like this.
  7. MrZeker

MrZeker

yes!