Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Making an Encounter Saving System for my Shiny PKMN Counter tool

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Sol_Slacker, Aug 6, 2020.

1. Sol_Slacker

Sol_Slacker

I'm trying to create a function for my Shiny Pokemon Counter application that saves the data of the current hunt when you manually confirm that you've encountered your target. I want to then load this data and all other entries of this data and display them in a UI that lists the history of your encounters.

To do so, how would I go about saving the set of data comprised of the time from when the save function was called, 3 strings, and 3 ints when prompted and loading these sets of data so I can feed them into the UI? I am rather new to Unity and programming in general, and I'm having trouble figuring out how exactly to do this.

Below is a screenshot of the app running in the Unity editor. The data I'm working with are the target Pokemon's name as a string, the number of the Dropdown UI option that holds a sprite of the target Pokemon as an int (which I will use to get that sprite in the new UI), the type of the encounter (like regular encounters, hatching eggs, hordes, soft resetting) as a string, the type of the chaining method being used (fishing, SOS, pokeradar, or N/A if not chaining) as a string, the number of encounters as an int, and the number chained to as an int.