Search Unity

Making a power/battery system unity 5.61

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by FreddieM, Aug 27, 2018.

1. FreddieM

FreddieM

I want to start off by saying that I am trying to make a Five Nights At Freddy's fan game in unity 3D. I have got to the point in which I want to increment the power usage into the game. I am pretty new to coding and may still be making simple (and large) mistakes. I have got the fundamentals of how I want to do this and I have made some code that I thought would work... it didn't. Here is the code:

using System.Collections;
    using System.Collections.Generic;
    using UnityEngine;

public class PowerV2 : MonoBehaviour {

public TextMesh powertext;

public GameObject LeftLight;
    public GameObject RightLight;

public int maxPower;
    public int minPower;

// Use this for initialization
    void Start ()
    {

}

// Update is called once per frame
    void Update ()
    {
    StartCoroutine (lightsCheck ());
    powertext.text = maxPower.ToString ();
    }

IEnumerator lightsCheck()
    {
    if (!LeftLight.activeInHierarchy)
    maxPower = maxPower - 1;
    powertext.text = maxPower.ToString ();
    yield return new WaitForSeconds (2);
    }

}

I dragged each game object into the right box (The left light game object was dragged into the LeftLight public game object, etc...) When I run the scene after 2 seconds it removes 1% even when the left light is not even active yet, then it continues to minus 1 percent every frame. I would like to thank you in advance for helping me understand code more!

2. Brathnann

Brathnann

!LeftLight.activeInHierarchy

This says, if the LeftLight is not active, subtract 1. Remove the ! if you want it to check if it is active.
    Also, not sure what reason you are doing the check in a coroutine? Since you're calling it from Update to begin with, it's going to start the coroutine every frame. Which means each frame it hits will subtract 1.