Search Unity

Question Making a graphics options screen with HDRP

Discussion in 'High Definition Render Pipeline' started by Reaper93Z, Aug 8, 2021.

  1. Reaper93Z

    Reaper93Z

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Hello,


    I am trying to allow users to change quality presets for thing such as depth of field, bloom or shadows filtering quality and the like using HDRP. I'm having some trouble finding where I can set these things in a script so that a potential user would be able to select a shadow quality or anti-aliasing level from a dropdown, then have it be set using an apply button.

    The standard QualitySettings is fairly easy, but I haven't figured out HDRP yet. Anyone know what I need in order to make this sort of options screen?

    I've managed to find out how to set anti-aliasing I think. Grabbing the HDAdditionalCameraData from Camera.Main and then setting it there is enough I hope. Just have to reset it if the scene changes or have one camera import settings from another one that exists.
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2021
  2. rz_0lento

    rz_0lento

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,361
    This is pretty bare bones but functional example:
    https://openupm.com/packages/net.peeweek.game-options/

    Unity used that one on their HDRP Spaceship Demo.

    You can also toggle some feats from frame settings. See https://forum.unity.com/threads/hdr...settings-through-scripts.749171/#post-5324301 just need to swap that example to use current HDRP API: https://docs.unity3d.com/Packages/c...dering.HighDefinition.FrameSettingsField.html

    In addition, you can assign different Quality levels separate HDRP assets: You can't change HDRP Assets values directly at runtime but you can swap the assets itself at runtime.

    More about HDRP Asset / Frame Settings here: https://docs.unity3d.com/Packages/c...s.high-definition@12.0/manual/HDRP-Asset.html
     
    seoyeon222222 and oleg_v like this.
  3. PutridEx

    PutridEx

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2021
    Posts:
    1,136
    This would be a great task for a new easy to use catch all graphics runtime settings API.
    I noticed all the popular games shipped with HDRP have no graphics settings menu:D
     
  4. Reaper93Z

    Reaper93Z

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Thank you, I think this will be perfect for what I have in mind! I will see if I can build my own options sceen using this. I've already made some progress!
     
    rz_0lento likes this.