Search Unity

Making A FMV Game In Unity?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by wwinter86, Jun 14, 2012.

1. wwinter86

wwinter86

Hi,
    I was wondering it would be possible to create a fmv (full motion video) game in Unity and if so would you need Unity pro?

2. Khyrid

Khyrid

3. wwinter86

wwinter86

lol That looks like the greatest game ever made.

I’m new to Unity, approximately how would you insert a video of a character into a 3D environment (like in the Tex Murphy games)? Would you not need Pro?

4. welby

welby

check this out

http://unifycommunity.com/wiki/index.php?title=Animating_Tiled_texture_-_Extended

I use something like this to make little animated textures for FX with Unity Free.

now using for full on movies is another thing,..may get too laggy?

Google and youtube' unity3d animated textures',...there's some stuff out there.

good luck!

-Welby

5. wwinter86

wwinter86

Thanks, I’ll take a look at that.

Has anyone on here ever tried anything like this in Unity before?

6. superpig

superpig

Drink more water! Unity Technologies

Yes, Unity Pro supports playing FMV (compressed as Ogg Theora). On PC/Mac it can be decoded to a texture which you can then draw to the screen (or do other stuff with, eg draw it onto a TV screen in a 3D environment). On mobile, you can play movies but I think they only permit the full screen style.

7. wwinter86

wwinter86

So it would have to be the Pro version not the free one?

8. Meltdown

Meltdown

For RenderTexture's yes you need pro, and for Unity to use Plugins you need pro as well, in this case it sounds like you would need both these features.

9. Harissa

Harissa

Hmm, making a decent FMV game is really, really difficult and the worst part is that you don't know what its actually like until you've shot all your video and then you've usually spent all your money and can't change it.
    http://listverse.com/2011/12/24/10-notorious-full-motion-video-titles/