Search Unity

1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions by the end of July. Read our announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

Making a 4D sphere

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by TrevorR1227, Dec 23, 2022.

1. TrevorR1227

TrevorR1227

I am trying to make a 4D game but there are not very many resources to help me and I cant even create a simple 4D sphere I am using this code which I got from Jelle. It brings up an error when I mention a float4 the error is

The type or namespace name 'float4' could not be found (are you missing a using directive or an assembly reference?) [Assembly-CSharp]csharp(CS0246)

also it brings up an under length and the error is

The name 'length' does not exist in the current context [Assembly-CSharp]csharp(CS0103)

I don't know how to fix this because I am not that good at coding.

using System.Collections;
    using System.Collections.Generic;
    using UnityEngine;

public class HyperSphere : MonoBehaviour
    {
    public float sdHyperShpere(float4 p, float s)
    {
    return length(p) - s;
    }
    // Start is called before the first frame update
    void Start()
    {

}

// Update is called once per frame
    void Update()
    {

}
    }

2. Murgilod

Murgilod

Unless you're using the Mathematics package, float4 isn't a type in Unity. You want to use Vector4.

Bunny83 and ippdev like this.
  3. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker

As @Murgilod points out, not sure where you got this code (from a shader? some random C / C++ library?) but just delete it and start from C#.

I have no idea what a "4D Sphere" is, but if you need examples of procedural geometry creation within Unity3D, you're welcome to check out my MakeGeo project.

I do have great examples of 3D sphere generation in there, so perhaps you could take that and add an extra "Dee" to it and be all set.

MakeGeo is presently hosted at these locations: