Search Unity

Make text appear after collision

Discussion in '2D' started by jamfu123, Dec 23, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jamfu123

jamfu123

Hi, does anyone know how to achieve this ?

I want my player to pickup a powerup which will then enable them to fire. Ive already got the scripting down for shooting, just want the script to activate after the item pickup.

2. Thimble2600

Thimble2600

Make a text UI gameObject and set it as a prefab, then instantiate it when needed. Set its parent to the canvas and give it a script that destroys it after a set duration.

Have the player character's script subscribe to an event onPickUp which gets called when the player picks up any kind of power up. Pass the power up name or value representing its type to the subscribed object, then I guess modify the player characters fire rate or what-not.

jamfu123 likes this.
  3. jamfu123

jamfu123

Thanks for the reply, im still a beginner at coding so i will try and figure this out.

4. MisterSkitz

MisterSkitz

Well you can put the text object into a Text variable and set its enabled to false from the start. And when your player collides, set the enabled to true.
    Code (CSharp):
    1. [SerializeField]
    2. private Text yourText; // Insert your text object inside unity inspector
    4. void Start()
    5. {
    6.     yourText.enabled = false; // You may need to use .SetActive(false);
    7. }
    10. // Assuming you're using a 2D platform
    11. void OnCollisionEnter2D(Collision2D collision)
    12. {
    13.    if(collision.gameObject.tag == "Player")
    14. {
    15. // This is where you make your text object appear on screen
    16.     yourText.enabled = true; // May need to use .SetActive(true);
    17. }
    18. }
    20. void OnCollisionExit2D(Collision2D collision)
    21. {
    22.      // Here is where you make the text disappear off screen
    23.       if(collision.gameObject.tag == "Player")
    24. {