Search Unity

Make object disappear

Discussion in '2D' started by gflint, Jan 10, 2019.

1. gflint

gflint

I am a novice at Unity so a lot of trial and error is involved here. I want an object to disappear when I click on it. Below is what I have now. When I click on the Post object both the Post and the BlueCube disappear simultaneously. Hummm. When I click on the BlueCube only the BlueCube disappears. I have this script attached to both the Post object and the BlueBox object in the Inspector. This also seems like a very inefficient way to accomplish the task. If I get it working there has to be an If statement for every object. There has got to be a better way.

Code (CSharp):
    2. using System.Collections;
    3. using System.Collections.Generic;
    4. using UnityEngine;
    6. public class ClickDisappear : MonoBehaviour
    7. {
    8.     void Start()
    9.     {      
    10.     }
    11.     void Update()
    12.     {
    13.         if (Input.GetMouseButtonDown(0))
    14.         {
    15.             Vector3 mousePos = Camera.main.ScreenToWorldPoint(Input.mousePosition);
    16.             Vector2 mousePos2D = new Vector2(mousePos.x, mousePos.y);
    17.             RaycastHit2D hit = Physics2D.Raycast(mousePos2D, Vector2.zero);
    19.             if (hit.collider != null && hit.collider.gameObject.name == "Post")
    20.             {
    21.                 gameObject.active = false; //hide
    22.             }
    23.             if (hit.collider != null && hit.collider.gameObject.name == "BlueCube")
    24.             {
    25.                 gameObject.active = false; //hide
    26.             }
    27.         }
    28.     }
    29. }

2. Reloque

Reloque

Well, one solution you could try is to have a script attached to each object, and have an OnCollision function.
    So the objects themselves can hide themselves on hit. I've made that for my BlockBreaker game when I was learning about physics in Unity, it looked like this;