Search Unity

Make enemy follow multiple targets

Discussion in 'Navigation' started by unity_Lsm4Ng1gjLq_7A, Nov 9, 2020.

1. unity_Lsm4Ng1gjLq_7A

unity_Lsm4Ng1gjLq_7A

Hello! I'm making an FPS where you have to defend a group of moving objects from enemies. I would like to make the enemies follow whichever target is closest, and have an infinite range to seek them out. How could I implement this, and would this video work?

Ps: I'm a beginner to C# and Unity.

Thanks!

2. MinhocaNice

MinhocaNice

I am not an expert at Unity but what I did to make sure enemies follow multiple targets (in my case, players) was to simply make the Player reference in the script a list instead of a single Transform variable. In your case, an array might be more adequate.

An array is simply a variable with multiple other variables inside it, called elements. The elements range from 0 to the size limit of the array minus 1, which is set inside the Inspector. So an array with size 5 has elements 0, 1, 2, 3 and 4.

You set it up like a normal variable but with a [] in front of the variable type, like this:
    public Transform[] Players
    , then to use the individual variables you just use the array name and the element's number, like:
    Player[0] = Something;

A list is the same as an array but slightly more complex and more versatile. Use it if you need it to add/remove elements from the array automatically in the script. You set it up like this:
    public List<Transform> Players = new List<Transform>();
    , I don't remember exactly why it's redundant like that but still. After setting you can use just like you would with an array but with a few new properties. I believe they aren't as performance friendly as arrays though.

To make the enemy script detect and follow the closest target you can put a
    for
    statement inside
    void Update ()