Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Make a car follow a racetrack loop (multiple times), at constant speed.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dynaflow1949, Aug 2, 2021.

1. Dynaflow1949

Dynaflow1949

Hello,
    I am new to Unity and don't know much about C#.

My project:
    Create a racetrack loop, which the car enters and then follows multiple times. Player sits in the car with VR glasses on

What I tried:
    Animate the car along the Racetrack ( difficult to get same speed along the whole route)
    I imported this Splines Tutorial File but it didn't work and I think there should be a easier way.

How do I get the car to enter the racetrack and then follow it at constant speed?
    Thank y'all!

2. neginfinity

neginfinity

If you want the car to DRIVE by itself, make a basic car AI that drives it to a waypoint. Then make a list of waypoints.

If you want an animation that you can control, then animate car movement in an editor and import it into unity. And yes, splines could work too.

3. Dynaflow1949

Dynaflow1949

Thank you for the fast response!

The car doesnt have to drive by itself. just going around and around would be enough. However, Do you maybe have Video or Tutorial on how this AI could look like and work?

What do you mean by editor, like in blender?
    I would prefer to do it in Unity itself, to have more flexibility.
    Thanks again

4. neginfinity

neginfinity

The absolute dumbest AI that could drive to waypoint would be something like this:

Given a waypoint, for every frame:
    1. calculate vector to waypoint.
    toWayPoint = waypointTransform.position - pointBetweenFrontWheels.transform.position