Search Unity

'Made with Unity' games that run hot CPU and GPU

Discussion in 'Windows' started by jman0war, Sep 14, 2020.

1. jman0war

jman0war

I'm not a developer but thought it'd try and get some opinions on this from here.

I have a couple PC games that are "Made with Unity" and they run high temps on my CPU and GPU.
    3 games in particular, developed by different studios.

1. Fantasy General 2 - developed by Owned by Gravity https://www.ownedbygravity.com/
    2. Panzer Corp 2 - developed by Flashback Games http://flashback.games/
    3. Gloomhaven - developed by Flaming Fowl Studios: http://www.flamingfowlstudios.com/

On some discussion forums a couple devs said this is a problem with the Unity Engine.
    Someone else claimed that Unity fixed this bug a while back, but that developers may not be aware or know of the fix.

What are your thoughts?
    If the problem is the engine, then i suppose i'll steer clear of Unity games.

CPU at 90c
    GPU at 80c
    All possible graphic options turned to low setting, off/disabled

My system:
    MSI GS65 Stealth gaming laptop
    Win10 pro 64bit
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8750H CPU @ 2.20GHz
    32 GB @ 1333 MHz
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 - drivers updated.

2. Tautvydas-Zilys

Tautvydas-Zilys

Unity Technologies

Temperatures of CPU and GPU are a function of work thrown at them. The more work they have to do, the hotter they get. Furthermore, since both CPU and GPU are in close physical proximity, one getting hot will likely warm up the other one too.

That said, a computer with adequate cooling should be able to withstand 100% load on both the CPU and the GPU without any issues. If it can't, it's the issue with the computer, not the software it's running. Since software cannot load the CPU or the GPU more than 100%, no software can be blamed for overheating your computer (this includes the Unity engine). You'll probably see it in any game that puts enough pressure on the CPU or the GPU.