Search Unity

Macbook Air 2020 for Unity?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by beerinbox, May 1, 2020.

1. beerinbox

beerinbox

I'm normally a Windows guy, but back in 2013, I got a Macbook Air (mid-13) with base configuration and I am typing this question from it. No laptop I or my brother got lasted this long, and if I had bought one with more ram (instead of 4 GB) and more storage (instead of 128 GB SSD) back then, I think I'd think of replacing it much later than now. This one has an i5, 4 GB ram and 128 gb SSD.

So actually, I quite like Macbook Air and recently I started to get that rainbow beach ball more and more frequently. In fact, if you run Unity and want to look a solution up on Chrome, the whole computer crashes if you open more than 4 tabs.

I actually own a desktop computer, but because of my job, I'm usually away from it. And I am just a beginner with game programming (with my interest coming and going time to time), so I won't be producing AAA games. In fact, my current project involves two boxes colliding (and also other projects where I follow tutorials etc). I was never good with painting and graphics (not even on paper) so I don't think I'll use such software.

With these in mind, do you think a Macbook Air would suffice? I'm thinking of not making the same mistake, and getting i5, 16 GB RAM and probably a 1 TB disk this time. It will be really, really expensive in my country but if that one lasts as long as this one, then it will be lot of money used pretty well.

What's wrong with this one? Like I said, it requires me to have no problems and dead-ends while developing a game so I don't use Chrome. It also feels like suffering a very painful and a long death if I actually run my code involving two boxes crashing :) Solid machine though.

2. Ryiah

Ryiah