Search Unity

MAC Performance Getting Slower

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by GXMark, Jan 26, 2016.

1. GXMark

GXMark

I am a PRO user of unity for years now and have been writing an RPG game for the last year and have diligently updated my unity version through the 4 to 5 releases. Due to being in a development cycle which is not close to production yet I have had the luxury of putting unity through its paces a lot. The work I do is not GI Enlighten based because my game is purely dynamic procedural world building. I am targeting standalone platforms which are Windows and Mac but i am getting huge performance swings post 5.2 unity versions regarding deployment to the Mac Pro Mid 2015.

My latest game build which can be accessed from www.virtuoso-life.com has two installs Windows/Mac but my user base is really complaining at how horrid the mac performance is. Here are some empirical stats taken by the users recently.

Medieval Docks Parcel Windows (7,8,10) Users Averaging [52 - 80fps, NVidia 600 - 960 Cards]
    Mac Users (Yosemite & Capitan) Users Averaging [12 - 24fps, Mac Pros (2014, mid 2015s)]

Virtuoso Arc Parcel Windows (7,8,10) Users Averaging [60 - 105fps, NVidia 600 - 960 Cards]
    Mac Users (Yosemite & Capitan) Users Averaging [15 - 28fps, Mac Pros (2014, mid 2015s)]

The mac builds are experiencing nasty GUI flickering with the new GUI system where when you close a panel it flickers with some kind of atlas showing behind.

I am at a loss why the mac is performing so badly and the windows platforms are performing so good. I've tried all quality settings. I've tried stripping out the water, the drawing of trees grass on the terrain with exactly the same relative performance issues as shown above.