Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Enter the 2020.2 Beta Sweepstakes for a chance to win an Oculus Quest 2.
    Dismiss Notice

Mac OS Big Sur Beta 10 (DTK) Unity 2020.2.0b6 - freezing screen

Discussion in '2020.2 Beta' started by thestringer, Oct 14, 2020 at 10:15 PM.

  1. thestringer

    thestringer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Posts:
    54
    Had this a little on b6/7/8 & 9 but beta 10 will not let me switch scenes without locking up the screen.

    At first I thought this was an Apple issue but looking at the Console logs it does seem to be some shenanigans going on.

    Any one else getting similar issues ?

    Console snippet :

    Created GICache directory at /Users/tomstringer/Library/Caches/com.unity3d.UnityEditor/GiCache. Took: 0.033s, timestamps: [25.372 - 25.405]
    gi::BakeBackendSwitch: switching bake backend from 3 to 0.
    Setting up 2 worker threads for Enlighten.
    Thread -> id: 316dd0000 -> priority: 1
    Thread -> id: 316e58000 -> priority: 1
    TrimDiskCacheJob: Current cache size 2990mb
    Refresh completed in 0.095428 seconds.
    RefreshInfo: RefreshV2(AllowForceSynchronousImport) scanfilter:
    RefreshProfiler: Total: 95.403ms
    Start ondemand import (priority ImportantBackground): Assets/ACC_Multiplayer/Scenes (Guid(0464fc435bfec4e4dbfb80cdf3d7380e) Importer(815301076,1909f56bfc062723c751e8b465ee728b))
    Start ondemand import (priority ImportantBackground): Assets/ACC_Multiplayer/Scenes/MainMenuScene.unity (Guid(b8c98a3ff806355449e8a355b2fe7df7) Importer(815301076,1909f56bfc062723c751e8b465ee728b))
    Opening scene 'Assets/ACC_Multiplayer/Scenes/MainMenuScene.unity'
    Unloading 4 Unused Serialized files (Serialized files now loaded: 0)
    Loaded scene 'Assets/ACC_Multiplayer/Scenes/MainMenuScene.unity'
    Deserialize: 16.796 ms
    Integration: 602.281 ms
    Integration of assets: 0.007 ms
    Thread Wait Time: 16.297 ms
    Total Operation Time: 635.381 ms
    System memory in use before: 0.54 GB.
    System memory in use after: 0.53 GB.

    Unloading 69713 unused Assets to reduce memory usage. Loaded Objects now: 7406.
    Total: 123.859667 ms (FindLiveObjects: 6.413459 ms CreateObjectMapping: 2.340917 ms MarkObjects: 40.321792 ms DeleteObjects: 74.781584 ms)

    gi::BakeBackendSwitch: Clear() active clients.
    [EnlightenBakeManager] m_Clear = false;
    Unable to determine Max Full Frame Tonemap Luminance from display.

    Unable to determine Max Tonemap Luminance from display

    Unable to determine Min Tonemap Luminance from display

    Refresh completed in 0.096437 seconds.
    RefreshInfo: RefreshV2(AllowForceSynchronousImport) scanfilter:
    RefreshProfiler: Total: 96.412ms
    Refresh completed in 0.120775 seconds.
    RefreshInfo: RefreshV2(NoUpdateAssetOptions) scanfilter:
    RefreshProfiler: Total: 120.762ms
    Refresh completed in 0.129752 seconds.
    RefreshInfo: RefreshV2(NoUpdateAssetOptions) scanfilter:
    RefreshProfiler: Total: 129.740ms
    Refresh completed in 0.134039 seconds.
    RefreshInfo: RefreshV2(NoUpdateAssetOptions) scanfilter:
    RefreshProfiler: Total: 134.027ms
    Refresh completed in 0.144236 seconds.
    RefreshInfo: RefreshV2(NoUpdateAssetOptions) scanfilter:
    RefreshProfiler: Total: 144.218ms
    Refresh completed in 0.149191 seconds.
    RefreshInfo: RefreshV2(NoUpdateAssetOptions) scanfilter:
    RefreshProfiler: Total: 149.174ms
    2020-10-14 22:07:32.292 Unity[7138:105977] CAMetalLayer ignoring invalid setDrawableSize width=0.000000 height=0.000000
    2020-10-14 22:07:32.305 Unity[7138:105977] CAMetalLayer ignoring invalid setDrawableSize width=0.000000 height=0.000000
     
  2. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    7,755
    I assume this is happening in the editor? Could you try checking if it's specifically your project that's triggering it or if it reproduces on an empty one? If it doesn't happen in the empty project, we'll probably need some kind of repro in a bug report to look at it.
     
  3. thestringer

    thestringer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Posts:
    54
    Submitted as 1285304, brand new empty project same result.
     
    LeonhardP likes this.
  4. thestringer

    thestringer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Posts:
    54
    factory restored the DTK in DFU mode to MacOS 11 Beta 10 and a fresh install of Unity 2020.2.0b7 on an empty project is the same.

    Another user on the DTK Forums has this same issue also.

    3 errors all with the same message this time round:
    [Package Manager Window] Error searching for packages.
    UnityEditor.EditorApplication:Internal_CallUpdateFunctions () (at /Users/bokken/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/EditorApplication.cs:327)
     
    Klausology likes this.
  5. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    7,755
    Yeah I can reproduce this too. Thanks for the report, we will look at it.
     
    thestringer likes this.
  6. thestringer

    thestringer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Posts:
    54
    Thanks, any idea what caused it ?
     
    Klausology likes this.
  7. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    7,755
unityunity