Search Unity

Mac Mini for building/testing - which one?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by CrowbarSka, May 9, 2018.

1. CrowbarSka

CrowbarSka

Hello! I'm a complete Mac novice, but I want to get one so I can build games for OSX and be able to test them, and maybe do iOS development in the future.

The kind of games I make aren't super expensive high-detail games, they're smallish indie games with sprites and low poly models.

Having said that, I'm concerned that older Mac Minis will limit me. I tried a 2006 model running OSX 10.5.8 Leopard and found that that's simply too old to even run Unity games. So my first though was... just get the first one that IS supported (10.9) but then... is that going to be unsupported at some point?

I've also heard that Apple can just block older versions of OSX from building apps for iOS App Store. What's the threat level there?

Budget is an issue, but I've got wriggle room if it means I can save in the long term.

Any help is appreciated!

2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

The latest version of Unity requires a very recent version of iOS — and I certainly wouldn't recommend you use an older version of Unity.

It's totally awesome that you want to support the Mac, and I want to support you in that. But I can't recommend any Mac Mini for it (they haven't been updated since 2009 or so). Get a MacBook Pro or an iMac; it'll cost you more for sure, but last a lot longer before you can no longer use it for development.

3. orb

orb

The Mac mini was updated in 2012 or so, and that's actually the best model (I have one and it's nice). All the ones since are much slower (7/12ths the speed of the 2012 quad-cores, integrated graphics which aren't fast enough to make up for it in any way). But it's better to get a low-end 21.5" iMac (the first one has Iris Plus, the middle one has dedicated graphics), or a used laptop from about 2015 or newer if you think they're too expensive.

4. Eric5h5

Eric5h5

Volunteer Moderator Moderator