Search Unity

1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

LWRP Shadow quality - 'close fit' support for games with single shadow casters

Discussion in 'Graphics Experimental Previews' started by Prodigga, Nov 2, 2018.

1. Prodigga

Prodigga

Hi there!

I was exploring shadow mapping techniques. I am still new to all this so there might be some issues/errors in what I am about to post!

So, there are different 'fit' modes..:

The 'Stable Fit' mode, from what I understand, renders the shadow map using a projection matrix that is sized to fit as many shadows as can ever be rendered on to the screen at once, even if there is only a few shadow casters that take up only a few pixels of space.

On the other hand, 'Close Fit' attempts to fit the shadow casters exactly. So this means that if you only have a single shadow caster, that shadow casters shadow will get the entire shadow map for itself resulting in higher quality shadows.

This was my experience when I implemented my own shadow mapping.

I noticed that LWRP didn't support 'Close Fit' fit mode. It only support 'Stable Fit'! :(