Search Unity

LWRP, HDRP or bulit-in renderer for VR?

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by appymedia, Aug 12, 2019.

1. appymedia

appymedia

Hey All,

What do you prefer to use at present for VR projects LWRP, HDRP or bulit-in renderer?

I've setup my own template (https://forum.unity.com/threads/community-vr-template.725498/) using the LWRP using Unity 2019.2, but that was only because Unity 2019.1 had a template based on LWRP so I followed suit :).

From what I understand LWRP is a good forward thinking choice for VR that should work on mobile and desktop. What I don't know is what is the experience like using it on projects today? Its not long out of preview?

In a similar vein is HDRP a good choice for a forward thinking desktop only high end visual VR experience? Whats the experience like today? Stable?

I'm a little new to 3D in general and its a bit difficult to make a choice when your still learning about the fine details and how things render in detail. Armed with that knowledge would I be better served with the 'old' built-in renderer for now for VR projects, might be easier to find my feet there, more info online etc?

Appreciate any advice, cheers!

2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

I've just been using the standard renderer. But I have no particular support for this, other than it works and I have little experience with LWRP.

3. Booter

Booter