Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 beta is now available.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We're looking for insight from anyone who has experience with game testing to help us better Unity. Take our survey here. If chosen to participate you'll be entered into a sweepstake to win an Amazon gift card.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Want to provide direct feedback to the Unity team? Join the Unity Advisory Panel.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Unity 2018.3 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice

LWRP: 4.6.0-preview (18.3) & 5.2.1 (19.1) are out

Discussion in 'Graphics Experimental Previews' started by phil_lira, Sep 28, 2018.

  1. castana1962

    castana1962

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Posts:
    293
    Thanks equalsequals !!!
    Regards
     
  2. Spacew00t

    Spacew00t

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Posts:
    15
    Not sure if this has been posted yet, but I get this issue when using the LWRP and ShaderGraph 4.9.0 with Unity 2013.3.3f1 on OSX 10.13.6 with Metal enabled in editor:

    Code (csharp):
    1. Shader error in 'Hidden/Lightweight Render Pipeline/CopyDepth': failed to open source file: 'CopyDepthPass.hlsl' at line 22 (on metal)
    2. Compiling Vertex program with _DEPTH_NO_MSAA
    3. Platform defines: UNITY_ENABLE_REFLECTION_BUFFERS UNITY_USE_DITHER_MASK_FOR_ALPHABLENDED_SHADOWS UNITY_PBS_USE_BRDF1 UNITY_SPECCUBE_BOX_PROJECTION UNITY_SPECCUBE_BLENDING UNITY_ENABLE_DETAIL_NORMALMAP SHADER_API_DESKTOP UNITY_COLORSPACE_GAMMA UNITY_LIGHT_PROBE_PROXY_VOLUME UNITY_LIGHTMAP_FULL_HDR
    Everything is pink. Lemme know if you need more specific information, rolling back to 4.8.0 which works fine for now.
     
  3. phil_lira

    phil_lira

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Posts:
    330
    We could not reproduce this issue. Could you open a bug report with a repro project so we take a look at it?
     
  4. phil_lira

    phil_lira

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Posts:
    330
    Hi all,

    LWRP 5.3.1 is out. Here's the changelog

    to highlight some cool things:
    • We reworked particles shaders to support distortion and soft particles + fixed many particle shader issues. We added a new built-in shader
    • Baked Lit. This shader doesn't do realtime lighting but sample GI from lightmaps or light probes.
    • We reworked the all LWRP shader material inspectors to be consistent and add few more options like Render Face (Front, Back, Both) and exposed Render Queue priority for sorting.
    • Bunch of bugfixes and performance improvements in terms of bandwidth for mobile.
    • Documentation for all shader/lighting models are in the package now.
     
    scvnathan likes this.
  5. desertGhost_

    desertGhost_

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    Posts:
    21
    My team at work is targeting high end desktop PC systems and would like to use SRP when upgrading to 2019.1 (after 2019.1 has left beta). If possible we would like to avoid using HDRP because it is still in preview and we were therefore planning on extending the LWRP for our project.

    We currently use camera stacking (because it is simple and the performance overhead is not an issue on our platform) in our project. Will this solution that you are prototyping be ready for 2019.1? Would it be possible for you to put it on GitHub if it doesn't ship with 2019.1?

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2019
    phil_lira, Heckmouse and Karearea like this.
  6. ibyte

    ibyte

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Posts:
    867
  7. MrMetwurst2

    MrMetwurst2

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    245
    I modded the LightweightRenderPipelineAsset.cs to add set to the supportsCameraOpaqueTexture like so...

    Code (csharp):
    1.         public bool supportsCameraOpaqueTexture
    2.         {
    3.             get { return m_RequireOpaqueTexture; }
    4.             set { m_RequireOpaqueTexture = value; }
    5.         }
    and can turn Opaque Texture on and off now easily in code (for better performance on older phones) by switching the bool on and off on my LWRP asset.

    Is there a reason this isn't enabled by default?
    Should I be doing this differently?
    Is there any side issues this may cause that I'm not aware of?

    Cheers!
     
  8. phil_lira

    phil_lira

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Posts:
    330
    Hi regarding LWRP 5.3.1 there's an issue in package manager that's causing it to not show in the UI.
    The issue has been fixed and it coming in the next 2019.1 beta (monday or tuesday I guess)

    Meanwhile, if you want to get it now you have to edit the manifest.json in your project Packages folder to point to 5.3.1
    cc @Prodigga
     
    Prodigga likes this.
  9. phil_lira

    phil_lira

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Posts:
    330
    Short answer is that LWRP doesn't have any changes in those versions. The issue is that we have to release SRP/HDRP/LWRP/ShaderGraph/VfxGraph together, so it might be the case HDRP has changes and then it has to bump a new LWRP package even if LWRP doesn't have any changes. :(
     
    Immu and ibyte like this.
  10. phil_lira

    phil_lira

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Posts:
    330
    This is already supported in 5.3.1 package. You can also override that settings per-camera.
     
  11. phil_lira

    phil_lira

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Posts:
    330
    Hi all (cc @desertGhost_ )
    Regarding the lack of Camera Stacking in LWRP and the Render Pass architecture. We are working on a solution to ship with 2019.1.

    There's a lot of feedback we received regarding this and we shifted our roadmap to tackle these issues and work on a set of examples on how to do rendering in LWRP.

    We are trying to cover most scenarios. To make sure we cover them, we greatly need your help. If you rely on camera stacking please send a message to me directly with what you are doing and the camera setup that you use to achieve that in built-in.

    Thanks
     
  12. MrMetwurst2

    MrMetwurst2

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    245
    Of course I can!! Wow. Thanks :)
     
  13. StefDevs

    StefDevs

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    I came here just now to inquire about this topic. What timing!

    I came to LWRP hoping to find the flexibility needed to replace my camera stacking solution (which seems horribly redundant for my use case) and unfortunately, after digging through the api, it doesn't seem to be there yet. So I'm very glad to see this post! DM-ing in a moment.
     
  14. MrMetwurst2

    MrMetwurst2

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    245
    Hey Phil. I can't see where to turn this off via script on the Camera. I can access the depthTexture setting but not opaqueTexture.

    upload_2019-2-8_23-2-36.png
     
  15. ChannexDK

    ChannexDK

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Posts:
    9
    We are seeing the exact same thing when changing to PS4 as target. It's a very odd bug, since the file is actually there? I tried to copy the CopyDepthPass.hlsl file from utils to root shader folder and even though I obviously get a meta collision, it actually works (no pink output in editor)
     
  16. equalsequals

    equalsequals

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Posts:
    83
    You have to add the LWRPAdditionalCameraData component alongside the Camera you want and enable the OpaqueTexture that way.
     
  17. MrMetwurst2

    MrMetwurst2

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    245
    Thanks for the tip. Unfortunately it was already on the Camera...
    upload_2019-2-9_17-8-53.png

    I'm on 4.9.0 btw
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2019
  18. MrMetwurst2

    MrMetwurst2

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    245
    Is it possible to change the Main Shadow resolution via script as well?
     
  19. equalsequals

    equalsequals

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Posts:
    83
  20. phil_lira

    phil_lira

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Posts:
    330
    Yes but only in 5.2.3 version and up.
     
  21. studentutu

    studentutu

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Posts:
    30

    Good afternoon, also we have found a bug with LWRP with enabled opaque texture on one camera - when using multiple camera setup with one camera ortho for 3d world and a second camera (no additional camera textures) with ortho only on UI - the screen on IOS is a complete mess.

    Our setup - Unity 2018.2.20f1, LWRP - 3.0.0.

    We are trying to fix this issue by using only one Ortho camera with additional Opaque texture and HDR, but now we have another problem - Canvas is being overridden each time camera rotates, which results in images being visible overdrawn with each frame and it causes images to be redrawn on top of each other with incorrect sorting order even when images are being layered correctly one after another in the hierarchy.
    To be noted: we are using a custom shader that uses Opaque texture for the blur effect as our first background image on the canvas.
    Please, tell us if we are using it wrong or is it a known issue?
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2019 at 10:43 AM
  22. studentutu

    studentutu

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Posts:
    30
    We have exactly the same issue - 2018.2.20f1, LWRP 3.0.0 -preview, IOS - fixed it by changing the initial scale on the models - we have imported models with large size and scaled them down in Unity on the objects transform to something like 0.002 on all axis. This results in rendering the vertices somehow too litle little for LWRP. Try changing the model import setting - initial size to the scale on the transform. Now objects transform should have 1 on each axis in scale!
     
  23. essimoon2

    essimoon2

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    189
    Hey guys!
    I'm just getting started with LWRP and I'm struggling a bit on what's the best approach to modify the LWRP in terms of actual rendering.
    I'd like to get the CameraDepthNormals texture in post processing and some other stuff. What would be the best approach to get this done, since it doesn't seem right to just modify the code inside tthe Packages folder.

    Is there any planned interface to inject code or modifiy the render loop from one's project?
     
  24. NGC6543

    NGC6543

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Posts:
    156
    Hi all,
    I tried to upgrade my existing project to LWRP, but failed.
    I have to force OpenGLCore due to an external library that I'm using, and that causes the Game view to turn black when the LWRP asset is assigned to Scriptable Render Pipeline Settings.

    I'm currently using Unity2018.3.5f1 with LWRP v4.9.0-preview, on an iMac.

    I tested this by creating an empty project, force Graphics API to OpenGLCore, and then import LWRP package, create the LWRP asset and assigned it. As soon as the asset is assigned, the Game view turns black, and the camera doesn't renders to it.

    I'm not sure if this was an intended behaviour(I don't believe so... does it?!)
     
  25. castana1962

    castana1962

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Posts:
    293
    Hi
    I am trying the BoatAtack Unity LWRP project and when I opened it into Unity2019.2.0a4 , I cannot see well The Terrain game object and I got this error

    Please include Nature/Terrain/Diffuse shader in Graphics settings.UnityEngine.Camera:Render()

    I got the error in LightweightRenderPipeline.cs ( line 224)

    var cullResults = context.Cull(ref cullingParameters);

    I was looking for about this topic in Internet and I found it
    https://answers.unity.com/questions/919590/unable-to-find-shaders-used-for-the-terrain-engine.html
    I did it but I cannot fix it
    For it, Could anybody help me to fix it?
    Thanks in advance
    Note. Please see the picture in add
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 14, 2019 at 2:09 PM
  26. Prodigga

    Prodigga

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Posts:
    627
    Hey there, the customizable passes are really cool! I have been toying with them. I had a question, and maybe its a dumb one so bear with me..!

    There are 2 instances where we need to render a camera into a RT but we only need to render one or two renderers that we know wont be culled etc. Is there someway to skip the entire rendering pipeline and just clear the RT and render this small list of renderers into it, and be done with it?

    I wrote a ScriptableRenderPass that just has a list of Renderers and in Execute it adds those renderers to a cmd buffer that it renders. (buf.DrawRenderer). I set the cameras Culling mask to 'nothing' so the camera does..nothing.. but I don't know if this is the most optimal way.

    I guess what I want (and not sure if I need) is a way to say 'remove all render passes and use only this render pass' instead of 'here is an additional render pass'
     
  27. Almgp

    Almgp

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Posts:
    20
    Hi everyone
    Hi everyone! I maked sky system for LWRP. Comming soon in Asset store. If sales be good - Ill be work on advanced sky system
     
  28. sounanoka

    sounanoka

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Hi
    I use 2019.1.0b3 & LWRP 5.3.1.
    If you set it like the following, the scene view becomes very dark.
    When you turn on HDR or change color space Linear,it will be normal.
    Am I wrong setting somewhere?

    Create new project(LWRP) and
    Camera : Attach PostProcessLayer
    LightweightRenderPipelineAsset : HDR off
    Player Settings : color space Gamma
    Platform : PC(Windows)

    I found LWRP 5.3.0 changelog:
    Fixed rendering in the gamma color space, so it doesn't appear darker.
     
  29. Arnklit

    Arnklit

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Posts:
    38
    Sorry if this has been cleared up elsewhere, but is there a known issue with using lightprobes for in the LWRP? Using Unity 18.3.6f1 and LWRP 4.9.0 dynamic objects appear to not be affected by the light probes at all. Using Unity 19.1.0b3 beta and LWRP 5.2.3 the light probes do affect dynamic objects, but only a tiny amount.

    LWRP 5.2.3
    LWRP.PNG
    Legacy Renderer Standard.PNG